Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ctl alt f1-6 and recovery mode (CLI) don't work

Beans

Cool ctl alt f1-6 and recovery mode (CLI) don't work

Afraid I'm an utter newbie. I'm using 10.04 64 bit.

I only noticed this after I tried to install the NVIDIA driver and all my ubuntu os'es blackscreened after restart. Because I couldn't even access recovery mode, I ended up reinstalling ubuntu, overwriting the old root.

I thought the problem was due to the driver, but it's even now persisting. I can run the terminal (within X?) but if I try ctl alt <F1-6>, the screen just freezes until I do ctl alt F7. Furthermore, recovery mode still leaves a black screen after the initial loading text. I need it to work before I attempt reinstalling the NVIDIA drivers again, as I don't want to reinstall the OS and all the programs.

Sometimes it feels like I can do stuff in recovery mode, like Ctl Alt Delete or sudo shutdown, but sometimes not.

Anyway to debug this?

Not sure if this is related, but grub also lists windows vista and windows recovery as the opposite they should be (I thought my windows was completely screwed until I tried windows recovery).

Thanks.
    Last edited by lalop; July 20th, 2010 at 02:54 AM.

Beans

Re: ctl alt f1-6 and recovery mode (CLI) don't work

Well I'm using Karmic and a while back I had a similar problem where I could not access any of my VTE's. Anytime I pressed Ctrl-Alt-F1-6 all I got was a black screen with a flashing underscore in the upper left corner of the screen. Similarly, if I selected the recovery mode from the boot menu, I got the same thing. I don't know if this is what you are describing.

In my case, after months of trying to figure it out, it turned out that I added the set gfxpayload=keep to my /etc/grub.d/00_header file. It appears that the VTE's did not like this. After removing it and updating grub.cfg, my VTE's were back with Ctrl-Alt-F1-6. Recovery mode also worked after this.

Hope this helps you.

Beans