Thread: Dell Optiplex gx280 Cannot install Ubuntu ?

Dell Optiplex gx280 Cannot install Ubuntu ?

Hello I hope I can get some help Iv been searching the forums to find a resolution for this, I have found many but none work.

I have a DELL OPTIPLEX GX280
    320 Sata
    pentium 4 cpu 2.80hz

OK, here we go.

1. I disabled the networking option in bios
    2. Ubuntu cd i have does load when the pc is started , I get the Purple screen and the main install menu
    3. I have done the

but i cannot get it to work still...

What I do get is, it says ubuntu for a bit then goes black with mouse visible. the pc makes a little tune 1 or 2 times then it goes to the purple screen and the mouse goes from a pointer to a clock or some sorts, back and forth back and forth.

This is driving me nuts , I am also very new to ubuntu I love it so far on my acer5070z laptop that installed like a breeze.

Thanks in advance

PNW on E-side Cascades
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Dell Optiplex gx280 Cannot install Ubuntu ?

Sorry, grahamz, but I know 512 MB is not enough RAM. I have several of the same Optiplex 280 machines and recommend going to this site and checking out the distro antiX-M8.5-i686. It is a Debian-based distro and works great with our older hardware. The forum associated is outstanding, too.
    Nonsense is an assertion of man's spiritual freedom in spite of all the oppressions of circumstance-- Aldous Huxley
    The real power of Linux lies in the command line

James78 is offline Extra Foam Sugar Free Ubuntu

On a more technical note, I agree with sidzen. The only difference between your computer and mine is that I run a 3.40GHz processor, and have 4GB of RAM. Other than that there's absolutely no reason for your machine not to work with Ubuntu.