Thread: Ubuntu can't ping Windows, can half Samba, sort of (with diagram!)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Ubuntu can't ping Windows, can half Samba, sort of (with diagram!)

Hi, I'm still new to Ubuntu but I hope I'm providing you with all the right info. I've also done a lot of searching but I haven't found any answers related to this problem.

The Windows7 machine can ping the Ubuntu machine (running 10.04) by name and IP address.
    The Ubuntu machine cannot ping the Windows 7 machine by name, only IP address. (ping: unknown host aztec)

Via Nautilus, I cannot browse to a shared folder on the Win7 machine.

Code:
    smb://aztec/Projects
    (or)
    smb://192.168.1.4/Projects
    because I keep getting the password dialog repeatedly (entering the correct password of course).

However, I CAN mount a shared folder via /etc/fstab but only by IP address

Code:
    //192.168.1.4/Projects /mnt/aztecprojects smbfs  auto,credentials=/root/.credentials,uid=1000,umask=000,user   0 0
    Using //aztec will not work in this case.

So I thought the Win7 machine wasn't visible by name, but then I tried using nmblookup and aztec does work!

Code:
    $ nmblookup aztec
    querying aztec on 192.168.1.255
    192.168.1.4 aztec<00>
    I also did an smbtree and the output contains the Win7 machine.

Code:
    WORKGROUP
        \\AZTEC                  
        \\ASHENVALE              ashenvale server (Samba, Ubuntu)
            \\ASHENVALE\IPC$               IPC Service (ashenvale server (Samba, Ubuntu))
            \\ASHENVALE\print$             Printer Drivers
    So as you can see, I'm confused. Samba can sort of see the Win7 machine but I can't ping it. I've seen the route -n requested in a lot of such threads, so here it is

Code:
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     2      0        0 eth1