Thread: ubuntu studio live cd?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

ubuntu studio live cd?

i've been long interested in ubuntu studio, i've used ubuntu for about a year, maybe a year and a half and have gotten bored. I am a music student so i was hoping to find a good thing for music composition and notation, not just mixing and recording.
    I downloaded and burned ubuntu studio, but when i boot form it, it doesn't give an option to run as a live cd.
    Is this not an option for ubuntu studio? I find that odd since it is a variant, you would assume that kind of thing would carry over

thanks
    chris

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: ubuntu studio live cd?

There is no live mode for studio, but it is basically the same as Ubuntu with a few extras installed. I take it you will want to use MIDI for your composing, so you could just try out Rosegarden on a regular install.
    I'm not quite sure what a composition based app would actually do, could you elaborate? I tend to jot my ideas down on paper and then use a DAW like Ardour to get them recorded.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Quote Originally Posted by cchhrriiss121212 View Post
    There is no live mode for studio, but it is basically the same as Ubuntu with a few extras installed. I take it you will want to use MIDI for your composing, so you could just try out Rosegarden on a regular install.
    I'm not quite sure what a composition based app would actually do, could you elaborate? I tend to jot my ideas down on paper and then use a DAW like Ardour to get them recorded.