Thread: Website Hosting

Beans

Website Hosting

Im looking to start to make my own website, i want to host it from home and will probably use ubuntu to host. Im a novice to both ubuntu and website building and hosting.
    Ive done some research and i think (pls correct me if im wrong)you buy a domain name, register with the DNS, then configure firewalls etc. eventually ending up at the server its hosted on?
    What software is good for website building and can Ubuntu host a website? and create one?

Beans

Re: Website Hosting

bear in mind that hosting a website is (depending on what you're serving, and the traffic you get) extremely bandwidth intensive

if you have 1mbps upstream
    and 10 people connect, each person will only be able to download stuff at 100kbps
    now, if 100 people connect...

For small stuff with a limited audience, self-hosting a site is fine
    but for most things, you'll run out of bandwidth (and then people will get rejections) very quickly

Beans

I get a lot of traffic on my site, but I have compression enabled so its a lot faster then otherwise.

Beans

while compression means you (generally) transfer less bits to & fro
    it's dependant on the content being served
    and it also increases CPU usage

but overall, I think compression is a good thing for webservers

Beans

Hosting a website from home is usually a bad idea, and not only because of bandwidth.

In order to connect to your website, visitors need a domain name and an "IP Address". You can find out what your ip address is by going to sites like

http://myip.is/

And for a domain name, I would suggest

https://www.nearlyfreespeech.net/

Once you have a domain name and an ip address, you can start running a server. But there is a catch:

Your internet service provider ususally gives you a dynamic ip address, so whatever your ip address is, it will probably change on a regular basis. Every time it changes, you domain name will point to the wrong place for your website.