Thread: Starting up Ventrilo Server?

Beans

Starting up Ventrilo Server?

I have it downloaded (linux version). What folder should I put it in?? Does it matter?

I am new to bash so i dont know how to start the Ventrilo Server up.

I navigated to the folder the server is in and did ./ventrilo_srv and ./ventrilo_srv -d and they both come up "No such file or directory". What do i do???????

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Starting up Ventrilo Server?

Quote Originally Posted by Nolam View Post
    I have it downloaded (linux version). What folder should I put it in?? Does it matter?

I am new to bash so i dont know how to start the Ventrilo Server up.

I navigated to the folder the server is in and did ./ventrilo_srv and ./ventrilo_srv -d and they both come up "No such file or directory". What do i do???????
    You know, I had this exact same issue with Ventrilo about 4 months ago - the file existed, I could use the 'vi' command and see it's contents, 'hexdump' would show it, and the permissions were set correctly (I tried a thousand configurations, even SUID), but whenever I tried to execute the file it would always give me that "file not found" error, even if I renamed it and moved it around. I tried extracting the archive on different machines with different programs and just moving the binary onto the server. I tried running it as several different users, including root. I tried executing the binary from scripts - absolutely nothing worked. It makes no sense at all... the file was right there, but BASH always threw up that error message.... I really thought I was going crazy. Ventrilo worked fine on my old server (not certain that it was the same version though); the only difference I can think of is that my new server is x86_64 and my old one was 32-bit; is yours? Run 'uname -m' and see what the output is. Maybe there is some strange incompatibility? I really have no idea.