Thread: Hosting websites (Ubuntu 8.04 Server).

Beans

Hosting websites (Ubuntu 8.04 Server).

Good morning board members.

I am trying to set up a server where i can host my websites, since my profession is website developper, using Ubuntu 8.04.

Note:
    There is no bug or problem with an existing guide, just wanted to ask whether I am following the right path and if there are any further guides (if needed).

Alright, so far I have read various guides and executed followed ones:
    - The Perfect Server - Ubuntu Hardy Heron (Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server)
    -> Web Server: Apache 2.2 with PHP 5.2.4 and Ruby (worked)
    -> Database Server: MySQL 5.0 (worked)
    -> Mail Server: Postfix (worked)
    -> DNS Server: BIND9 (worked)
    -> FTP Server: proftpd (assuming it worked)
    -> POP3/IMAP: I will use Maildir format and therefore install Courier-POP3/Courier-IMAP. (worked)
    -> Webalizer for web site statistics (assuming it worked)
    -> ISPConfig (did not try install)

- Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier, MySQL And SquirrelMail (Ubuntu 8.04 LTS)
    -> Send local messages and view those via SuirrelMail. (worked)

- Virtual Hosting With Proftpd And MySQL (Incl. Quota) On Ubuntu 8.04 LTS
    -> Access from local windows machine. (worked)
    -> Seems to be rather slow to get the 'welcome message' from the ubuntu server. (still assuming it worked)

- DNS server Setup using bind in Ubuntu
    -> No error in the syslog (anymore). (assuming it worked)

Server data:
    - Servername: lainHost.
    - Hostname: Used 'lainHost.lain.ch' in all guides (did register the domainname at switch.ch).
    - IP-Address: Used 192.168.1.100 in all guides.

Questions:
    - So basically I am wondering if that is all or if I missed something, which is required to display websites via my ubuntu server.
    -> Do I need a static IP-Address (or am I to change the DNS on switch.ch each day)?
    -> How do I make that local SquirrelMail system global?