Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Nautilus using lots of memory

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    122

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Quote Originally Posted by Thelasko View Post
    Zorblek: Have you tried to access any Samba shares in Nautilus recently?
    No, but I did use it to access an SFTP server.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Beans
    1,429
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Quote Originally Posted by zorblek View Post
    No, but I did use it to access an SFTP server.
    I don't know if that would do it. I've heard about a bug where Nautilus gets caught in a loop when it tries to access Samba. You would also see high CPU usage.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    122

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Huh, I will try deleting the bookmark to that server and see if that has any effect. Nautilus does occasionally use a lot of CPU, but not very frequently.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    1,297
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Click on LinuxEssentials in my sig.
    Extract it, then type in a Terminal window (Applications->Accessories->Terminal)
    Code:
    chmod +x FASTGNOME.sh
    ./FASTGNOME.sh
    That will restart nautilus.
    Do that everytime nautilus takes a lot of RAM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Beans
    1,429
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Quote Originally Posted by lkjoel View Post
    Click on LinuxEssentials in my sig.
    Extract it, then type in a Terminal window (Applications->Accessories->Terminal)
    Code:
    chmod +x FASTGNOME.sh
    ./FASTGNOME.sh
    That will restart nautilus.
    Do that everytime nautilus takes a lot of RAM.
    That would be all of the time.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    122

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Quote Originally Posted by lkjoel View Post
    Click on LinuxEssentials in my sig.
    Extract it, then type in a Terminal window (Applications->Accessories->Terminal)
    Code:
    chmod +x FASTGNOME.sh
    ./FASTGNOME.sh
    That will restart nautilus.
    Do that everytime nautilus takes a lot of RAM.
    Unfortunately that just opened a Nautilus window and made one of my panels disappear. I didn't see a change in memory usage.

    I forgot to mention that when I kill Nautilus, when it initially comes back it uses a lot less ram, but it uses 90% CPU until its memory usage increases to around 10% again (then the CPU use drops off).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    1,297
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Quote Originally Posted by zorblek View Post
    Unfortunately that just opened a Nautilus window and made one of my panels disappear. I didn't see a change in memory usage.

    I forgot to mention that when I kill Nautilus, when it initially comes back it uses a lot less ram, but it uses 90% CPU until its memory usage increases to around 10% again (then the CPU use drops off).
    Don't worry about the Nautilus window popping up, just close it.
    If a panel disappears, run it again, or type
    Code:
    ./gnome-panel.sh
    If you see any other problems, check in my sig for the bug links.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    122

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    I was able to deal with the panel issue, but unfortunately it didn't have an effect on memory use.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    1,297
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Are you using Gnome?

    Check in System Monitor (System->Administration->System Monitor) for the highest (or pretty close to the highest) process.
    If it is something like "polkitd", you can kill it.
    The process will restart.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Nautilus using lots of memory

    Am using a Dell machine with Lucid LTS installed and now suffering from Nautilus as its taking too much memory. I have 2GB of RAM and 3GB of SWAP. But when I try to open a folder with more than a 1000 files [pictures and sub-folders] Nautilus takes around 1 minute to fully load the files and am left to sit looking at the monitor. When I checked with System Monitor, I saw Nautilus is using around 95% of the RAM and about a half of my SWAP space is used! Any tips to get rid of this problem?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •