Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How Secure is Ubuntu/Firefox

Beans

How Secure is Ubuntu/Firefox

Newbie here,
    I'm thinking of moving mostly to linux to get away from the security holes in Windows. And I have some questions...

How secure is Firefox for doing online banking?

Sometimes I have run into a situation where the bank doesn't support anything but Windows explorer when accessing my accounts. Can this be gotten around safely in Linux?

If so, How?

Thanks!!

Bobby

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: How Secure is Ubuntu/Firefox

In theory, online banking is totally safe if you're using an updated web browser, logging into the actual bank's website (and not a phishing imitation), and your bank's server administrators are keeping it secure.

It really shouldn't matter whether you're using Windows or Ubuntu, or whether you're using Firefox or some other web browser.

If you're still paranoid about it, don't use online banking at all. Just do your banking in person.

By the way, if your bank doesn't support anything but Windows and Internet Explorer, how are you using it with Firefox and Ubuntu? User Agent Switcher?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

There are generally more security holes found in Firefox than in IE. Obviously. Firefox is open source, and anybody can scan the code looking for vulnerabilities. Of course, said holes are (at least in the time I've been paying attention to such things) always patched before anyone malicious has enough time to make any significant use of them. As opposed to Internet Explorer which has, on occasion, had known exploits go unpatched for many months. (And, at least once that I know of, over a year.)