Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The disk drive for / is not ready yet or not present

Beans

The disk drive for / is not ready yet or not present

Hi,

I'm a total newby. I tried to upgrade to the newest ubuntu version (10.04 I think). Now I can't even boot my computer. After the initial "boot" stuff, the ubuntu screen comes on and then locks up in the process. I get the message "The disk drive for / is not ready yet or not present. Continue to wait; or press s to skip mounting or M for manual recovery."

I've tried "waiting" overnight to no avail. I tried the "S" command to skip and got the message "[141.233783] Adding 1502036k Swap on /dev/sdb5. Priority-1 extents:1 across:1502036k"

I think the manual recovery is what I need to do. When I type the "M" for manual recovery I get a maintenance shell with the last line being

root@jay-desktop:~#

Can anyone please give me some commands to fix this problem? I have an OLD ubuntu boot disk. How can I get my computer to boot from it? I tried hitting "esc" while booting up to no avail. I also tried hitting F1 while booting up. I think that used to allow me to boot from the CD drive...but doesn't work now.

Please help

Jay

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: The disk drive for / is not ready yet or not present

You need to set the bios to boot to the DVD-Rom drive.

F1,Del, F12 etc --> Depends on your mother board. Some boards have a boot options by command key.

Once you get in I would recommend a fresh install with default options. Sounds like the partitions got set incorrectly.
    "Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transition that's troublesome." Isaac Asimov

Beans