Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Does "autoclick" exist?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    272
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Does "autoclick" exist?

    Hi,

    I can think of a lot of different situations when being able to "autoclick" would be really useful. By autoclick, I mean that I want to be able to hold down the left-click button and have it rapidly clickity clickity clickity as fast as the processor can handle.

    One example is games where I have a semi-automatic weapon and I have to hammer the mouse button with my finger. It would be nicer to reduce the wear and tear on my trackpad.

    Does such a thing exist?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,510
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Does "autoclick" exist?

    Quote Originally Posted by dolphinsonar View Post
    Hi,

    I can think of a lot of different situations when being able to "autoclick" would be really useful. By autoclick, I mean that I want to be able to hold down the left-click button and have it rapidly clickity clickity clickity as fast as the processor can handle.

    One example is games where I have a semi-automatic weapon and I have to hammer the mouse button with my finger. It would be nicer to reduce the wear and tear on my trackpad.

    Does such a thing exist?
    System-Preferences-Mouse.
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Homo cave
    Beans
    84
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Does "autoclick" exist?

    Gonna have to try this myself...

    ...on http://homokaasu.org/killeveryone/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Flanders
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Does "autoclick" exist?

    you could make a simple script with xdotool (I think it will be about 4 lines). it will be a simple bash script. than, you can use a shortkey to activate it I guess (if shortkeys work outside the game).

    You will have to find a way to stop it, maybe with another script and a kill command, maybe just let it shoot 10 times so you'll have to press 10 times less the key than you would click.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Flanders
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Does "autoclick" exist?

    made this script for 100 clicks:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    for i in {1..100} 
    do
       xdotool click 1
    done
    save this code in a file click.sh

    make it executable

    Before you test it:

    Do ctrl+alt+F1
    login under your account
    set the line
    Code:
    killall click.sh
    ready

    go back with ctrl+alt+F7

    test the scipt on a piece of text to see if it clicks, DO NOT MOVE THE MOUSE TO SOMETHING CLICKABLE.

    When something goes wrong: go back to the terminal ctrl+alt+F1 en press enter to execute the kill command.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Does "autoclick" exist?

    I used the code you wrote for this page with the following change:


    #!/bin/bash

    for i in {1..100000}
    do
    xdotool click 1
    done


    I use this for an autoclick program for approx. 20 minute gaming sequence.

    I wonder if this encoded to include pauses or timeout between clicks. This game sequence should only take about ten minutes, but the autoclick slows my processor so much that it slows it way down.

    If I could put in a 5 second pause between clicks, I'm sure I could reduce the total number of clicks by a factor of 100.

    Thanks for your help and thanks for the great code.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •