Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Benefits of creating a /home partition

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

[SOLVED] Benefits of creating a /home partition

Okay guys, so I'm fairly new to linux and I am slowly making the switch from Windows 7 to Ubuntu...

As I'm researching for applications to replace my current window solutions I read about how creating /home on a separate partition/HDD will allow me to store all my files in that so I don't need to back up due to a reinstall, upgrade, or distro switch.

My question is, is this worth it? I usually will move all files important to me to separate drives anyways... but if this gives me a benefit to upgrade or even switch distro's as the guide said without losing data then I would consider this option.

Also, if this is worth it should this be done on just a separate partition or a completely different hard drive?

Idea's and/or helpful thoughts are would be great.

Thanks.
    Last edited by lukemk1; June 1st, 2010 at 08:24 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Benefits of creating a /home partition

Check out this thread.

Beans
    Hidden!

Yes it's worth it, you covered the benefits really. Less hassle for a reinstall/switch distro etc. Of course you may want to backup anyway in case of installer or user error at install time but it's not strictly necessary with a separate /home (and I don't typically bother).
    Last edited by antenna; May 29th, 2010 at 06:56 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

How theoretically would you install a new distro and tell it to use the /home directory that is already there without it causing any data to be erased?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by lukemk1 View Post
    How theoretically would you install a new distro and tell it to use the /home directory that is already there without it causing any data to be erased?