Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 63

Thread: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Victoria, BC Canada
    Beans
    1,603

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    Are you behind a firewall or a NAT box?
    SERVER: Azure datacenters, Hyper-V

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Web Hosting Using Comcast?

    I have been trying for weeks to get my virtual name hosting going. I want to host three of my sites myself. Is this not possible using Comcast as your ISP? When I do a nslookup of my wilmingtoncoc.com I get some comcast ip numbers. I am having trouble resolving to my server files as well.

    Mike Hughes

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Beans
    802
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Web Hosting Using Comcast?

    Comcast shouldn't be blocking it do you own the website in question the /block? Comcast will just throttle your connection.
    KDE SC 4.4

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5,714

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    Quote Originally Posted by macmike View Post
    Question: I have started searching through .conf files and see what I can find out. At the bottom of the apache2.conf file I have the following.

    NameVirtualHost 69.246.231.58:80
    <ifModule mod_ssl.c>
    NameVirtualHost 69.246.231.58.443

    Do these need to come out will this keep the sites from being found? Coming to the box is not the Public IP which these are. They are not static IP's either.

    Mike
    remove the virtual host stuff from the apache2.conf file.

    what file(s) do you have listed in /etc/apache2/sites-available? Have you created files for the virtual hosts you want to host? have you enabled them? (as per the virtual hosts section on the link I gave you earlier?)
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

    what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Beans
    134
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Web Hosting Using Comcast?

    Looks fine to me:

    Code:
    Not Found
    
    The requested URL / was not found on this server.
    Apache/2.2.14 (Ubuntu) Server at www.wilmingtoncoc.com Port 80
    You probably just don't have your vhosts set up correctly. You could drop a stock index.html into /var/www/ to see that it's working

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5,714

    Re: Web Hosting Using Comcast?

    don't start multiple threads

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1493981

    did you follow the instructions as per the link I gave you in post 6?
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

    what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Re: Web Hosting Using Comcast?

    You probably just don't have your vhosts set up correctly. You could drop a stock index.html into /var/www/ to see that it's working

    How do I do that?

    my DocumentRoot is /SERVER/wilmingtoncoc there is an index.html inside the wilmingtoncoc folder. It works I see it when I go locally.

    Mike

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    Quote Originally Posted by halitech View Post
    don't start multiple threads
    Agreed: Threads merged
    Quote Originally Posted by macmike View Post
    You probably just don't have your vhosts set up correctly. You could drop a stock index.html into /var/www/ to see that it's working

    How do I do that?

    my DocumentRoot is /SERVER/wilmingtoncoc there is an index.html inside the wilmingtoncoc folder. It works I see it when I go locally.

    Mike
    If you want to quote someone else's reply, you should use the [quote] and [/quote] tags, otherwise it could get confusing. The easiest way is to use the "quote" button:
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    Quote Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
    Are you behind a firewall or a NAT box?
    Firewall in my router and in the Ubuntu Server.

    Cool on the quote business, I wondered how they did that!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    This morning. I can't get to the site at all. In my httpd.conf file I have

    NameVirtualHost *:80
    <VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerName www.wilmingtoncoc.com
    ServerAlias wilmingtoncoc.com *.wilmingtoncoc.com
    DocumentRoot /SERVER/wilmingtoncoc
    </VirtualHost>

    <VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerName www.mikealrhughes.com
    ServerAlias mikealrhughes.com *.mikealrhughes.com
    DocumentRoot /SERVER/wilmingtoncoc
    </VirtualHost>

    <VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerName www.biblematters.net
    ServerAlias biblematters.net *biblematters.net
    DocumentRoot /SERVER/biblematters
    </VirtualHost>

    When I restart apache2 I get an error that says VirtualHost *:80 -- mixing * ports and non-*ports with a NameVirtualHost is not supported, proceeding with undefined results
    [Warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts

    Always any help appreciated.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •