Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 63

Thread: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    Ok, when I type in wilmingtoncoc.com or type in 192.168.123.101 I get this error message.

    Not Found

    The requested URL / was not found on this server.
    Apache/2.2.14 (Ubuntu) Server at 69.246.231.58 Port 80

    When I type in 127.0.0.1

    I get a screen that says it works.

    I installed the ddclient and configured it. Porting in the router is working. I am trying to get 3 sites hosted on this Web Server. Any help appreciated. Also I have installed ftp, Webmin and want to install wordPress for the www.wilmingtoncoc.com site. What commands do I use and how do I configure them? All help welcomed. Definitely a green horn with Linux.

    Mike Hughes

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Trouble with my getting to my URL

    Ok, when I type in wilmingtoncoc.com or type in 192.168.123.101 I get this error message.

    Not Found

    The requested URL / was not found on this server.
    Apache/2.2.14 (Ubuntu) Server at 69.246.231.58 Port 80

    When I type in 127.0.0.1

    I get a screen that says it works.

    The $64,000 question is why can I get into the server locally with 127.0.0.1 and can't get to the file at Wilmingtoncoc.com or the Public IP or my 192.168.123.101 address?

    Someone on the phone told me apparently a configuration file for apache is not set right. The files are at /SERVER. How do I get to the config file to see what is set in the Document root? I typed in sudo nano /etc/apache2/httpd.conf and got a blank document. Don't know which one I need to look at to make sure it is all set right.

    I installed the ddclient and configured it. Porting in the router is working. I am trying to get 3 sites hosted on this Web Server. Any help appreciated. Also I have installed ftp, Webmin and want to install wordPress for the www.wilmingtoncoc.com site. What commands do I use and how do I configure them? All help welcomed. Definitely a green horn with Linux.

    Mike Hughes
    Last edited by macmike; May 26th, 2010 at 06:09 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trouble with my getting to my URL

    Have you registered the ip address with your registrars dns servers, I tried pinging the address and get no response.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    Please don't create multiple threads on the same subject, I have merged your two threads.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    I thought I did. I use Dydns. I have the Domain names through Go Daddy and have them forwarded to DynDNS.com. Sorry for the multi-posting. How do I make sure?

    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5,714

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    check out the section here on virtual hosts: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

    what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    Question: I have started searching through .conf files and see what I can find out. At the bottom of the apache2.conf file I have the following.

    NameVirtualHost 69.246.231.58:80
    <ifModule mod_ssl.c>
    NameVirtualHost 69.246.231.58.443

    Do these need to come out will this keep the sites from being found? Coming to the box is not the Public IP which these are. They are not static IP's either.

    Mike

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Victoria, BC Canada
    Beans
    1,613

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    You should move the namedvirtual host to the HTTPD.CONF file at the top. You should also change the IP address to *:80 so that if you IP address changes you do not need to change any settings at all.
    SERVER: Azure datacenters, Hyper-V

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    Is there anyway to do a copy and paste? I have an httpd.conf file now that is void of content.

    Mike

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    116

    Re: 404 Error when use Public IP or Domain Name

    When I restart apache2 Sever I still gt NameVirtualHost *:0 has no VirtualHosts
    NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts
    NameVirtualHost *:443 has no VirutalHosts

    Then repeats the warnings again. Still can't get to the Domain outside of doing it locally by 127.0.0.1

    I just did an nslookup 69.246.231.58 and got
    Server 68.87.72.134
    Address: 68.87.72#53

    Non-authoritative answer:
    58.231.246.69.in-addr.arpa name = c-69-246-231-58.hsdq.il.comcast.net

    What do I need to do to fix that?

    Thanks,

    Mike Hughes
    Last edited by macmike; May 26th, 2010 at 09:35 PM.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •