Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    home
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Angry Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    So, here's the problem:

    I configured a crappy Belkin wireless router to function as an accesspoint. Pw set, DHCP done by wired router, etc. All this works under Window$, but not under Ubuntu which is frustrating because Ubuntu!! (don't need more reasons)

    Now the crappy part from the router is that it sometimes just neglects to establish the connection. This is usually at start up and just takes a couple of minutes to re-establish, but this only happens in Window$ as Ubuntu keeps asking to connect (while it knows the pw and is set to auto-connect). Funny thing is that the router DOES show up as a network all the time.

    Now at first it didn't even connect to it, but now sometimes Ubuntu can connect to it automatically. Naturally I had to boot up to the other OS to troubleshoot what to do further. The solution offered were, among others:

    check IP (it's there when connected),
    check ping (works, when connected),
    change DNS (that actually made a couple of lines from Google's mainpage show up -i.e. I browsed for a moment!!- , but then the router just disconnected :/ )

    So now I'm stuck and have no idea how to proceed. That disconnection once I got it slightly working after the DNS change is worrying though. I had the feeling that the connection itself made it to disconnect. Another solution was to edit a line in a config file in /etc/[something] to disable IPv6 alltogether in Ubuntu but that file wasn't even there. So I didn't create it.

    So, what to do next?

    I'm running that 10.04 64-bit version btw.

    Many thanks in advance.

    Grtz CC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Isle of Bute, Scotland
    Beans
    365
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    when you say ping works when connected are you pinging

    by ip address or by domain?

    eg.is it ping 209.85.227.147

    or ping google.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    home
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    Errrm, I'm not sure what you mean here.

    I get an IP in the 192.blabla etc, which I didn't get before. So that means I got a connection to the wired router. The second suggestion was to try a ping, which I did on www.ubuntu.com . The feedback was that data transmission display with regular intervals.

    Does that answer your question?

    Thanks in any case.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Isle of Bute, Scotland
    Beans
    365
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    Quote Originally Posted by Crowd Control View Post
    Errrm, I'm not sure what you mean here.

    I get an IP in the 192.blabla etc, which I didn't get before. So that means I got a connection to the wired router. The second suggestion was to try a ping, which I did on www.ubuntu.com . The feedback was that data transmission display with regular intervals.

    Does that answer your question?

    Thanks in any case.
    Guess I wasn't clear so try
    ping google.com
    and
    ping 209.85.227.147
    and post the results please.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    home
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    Point of note: it seems I have had solid connections for the last couple of boots. Sot that means I didn't disconnect. The ping turned out quite differently in the mean time though, so I redid ifconfig and iwconfig again too. Here are the results:


    ifconfig:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:19:d1:85:de:55
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Memory:93200000-93220000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:720 (720.0 B) TX bytes:720 (720.0 B)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0c:f6:4f:84:24
    inet addr:192.168.1.100 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:f6ff:fe4f:8424/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:2339 (2.3 KB) TX bytes:5428 (5.4 KB)
    iwconfig:

    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"BeerWifi"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:11:50:57:C4:2D
    Bit Rate=5.5 Mb/s Tx-Power=16 dBm
    Retry long limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Power Managementn
    Link Quality=70/70 Signal level=59 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    pan0 no wireless extensions.
    ping google.com

    ping: unknown host google.com
    ping 209.85.227.147

    PING 209.85.227.147 (209.85.227.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=118 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=89.5 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=3 ttl=56 time=17.8 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=4 ttl=56 time=86.2 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=5 ttl=56 time=20.1 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=6 ttl=56 time=162 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=7 ttl=56 time=208 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=8 ttl=56 time=19.9 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=9 ttl=56 time=20.6 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=10 ttl=56 time=19.1 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=11 ttl=56 time=17.8 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=12 ttl=56 time=18.2 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=13 ttl=56 time=22.3 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=14 ttl=56 time=20.0 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=15 ttl=56 time=23.7 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=16 ttl=56 time=19.2 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.227.147: icmp_seq=17 ttl=56 time=20.2 ms
    etc (continues endlessly?)
    Last edited by Crowd Control; May 24th, 2010 at 12:25 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Isle of Bute, Scotland
    Beans
    365
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    Quote Originally Posted by Crowd Control View Post
    Point of note: it seems I have had solid connections for the last couple of boots. Sot that means I didn't disconnect. The ping turned out quite differently in the mean time though, so I redid ifconfig and iwconfig again too. Here are the results:
    The results show that your system does not know any DNS servers to translate google.com

    Try
    sudo ifdown eth0
    first and see what happens.
    Essentially all you need now is access to DNS lookups and you should be fine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    home
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxonbute View Post
    The results show that your system does not know any DNS servers to translate google.com

    Try
    sudo ifdown eth0
    first and see what happens.
    Essentially all you need now is access to DNS lookups and you should be fine.

    Alright, I tried this and this yielded:

    ifdown: interface eth0 not configured
    So that didn't change anything. I tried to do the same by manually removing it from 'system-admin-network connections'. And even after reboot it didn't change anything.

    Point of note: I'm sure I changed the DNS in resolve.conf to google's DNS, but when I just checked it back it was returned to its original value. Maybe that's something?

    Also, I barely have a 30% network connection. Maybe Ubuntu handles connections that hang by thread poorly?

    Thanks again, for your responses.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Isle of Bute, Scotland
    Beans
    365
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    Quote Originally Posted by Crowd Control View Post

    Point of note: I'm sure I changed the DNS in resolve.conf to google's DNS, but when I just checked it back it was returned to its original value. Maybe that's something?

    Thanks again, for your responses.
    What IP address has it put in resolv.conf?
    Try pinging it and see if it responds.

    also
    whois the-ip-address-in-resolv.conf
    will show who it belongs to.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    home
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    Hmm, not quite what I expected.

    resolv.conf:

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    domain groni1.gr.home.nl
    search groni1.gr.home.nl
    nameserver 212.54.35.25
    nameserver 212.54.40.25
    ~$ ping 212.54.35.25

    PING 212.54.35.25 (212.54.35.25) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 212.54.35.25: icmp_seq=1 ttl=251 time=15.2 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.35.25: icmp_seq=2 ttl=251 time=18.6 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.35.25: icmp_seq=3 ttl=251 time=22.1 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.35.25: icmp_seq=4 ttl=251 time=15.4 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.35.25: icmp_seq=5 ttl=251 time=15.4 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.35.25: icmp_seq=6 ttl=251 time=17.5 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.35.25: icmp_seq=7 ttl=251 time=22.6 ms
    ~$ ping 212.54.40.25

    PING 212.54.40.25 (212.54.40.25) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=1 ttl=250 time=18.7 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=2 ttl=250 time=16.3 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=3 ttl=250 time=14.3 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=4 ttl=250 time=16.5 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=5 ttl=250 time=21.2 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=6 ttl=250 time=124 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=7 ttl=250 time=15.8 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=8 ttl=250 time=17.2 ms
    64 bytes from 212.54.40.25: icmp_seq=9 ttl=250 time=20.3 ms
    ~$ whois 212.54.35.25
    getaddrinfo(whois.ripe.net): No address associated with hostname
    PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1 ttl=247 time=24.1 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=2 ttl=247 time=20.8 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=3 ttl=247 time=19.0 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=4 ttl=247 time=113 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=6 ttl=247 time=126 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=7 ttl=247 time=22.4 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=8 ttl=247 time=20.9 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=9 ttl=247 time=1122 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=10 ttl=247 time=121 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=11 ttl=247 time=19.3 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=12 ttl=247 time=18.8 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=13 ttl=247 time=18.8 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=14 ttl=247 time=18.5 ms
    erik@erik-desktop:~$ ping 8.8.4.4
    PING 8.8.4.4 (8.8.4.4) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=1 ttl=247 time=67.9 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=2 ttl=247 time=18.2 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=3 ttl=247 time=18.4 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=4 ttl=247 time=31.7 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=5 ttl=247 time=53.0 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=6 ttl=247 time=19.8 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=7 ttl=247 time=18.2 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=8 ttl=247 time=27.0 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=9 ttl=247 time=116 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=10 ttl=247 time=19.6 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=11 ttl=247 time=26.1 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=12 ttl=247 time=19.4 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.4.4: icmp_seq=13 ttl=247 time=18.6 ms
    erik@erik-desktop:~$ whois 8.8.8.8
    getaddrinfo(whois.arin.net): No address associated with hostname
    Quite the list here. I'll check what DNS I have in the other OS. If it differs I will edit this in below.

    edit: darn, I forgot I got Window$ set to Google's DNS.
    Last edited by Crowd Control; May 25th, 2010 at 10:45 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    home
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Connection established, yes IP, yes ping, but won't browse

    Is there any new input for this problem?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •