Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Exclamation Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    Hello "Ubuntuers"
    Hibernate and Suspend options have disappeared from my "Indicator Applet Session"
    I tried to install "hibernate" package from Synaptic, but I got a dialog telling me:
    To be able to suspend the system, uswsusp needs a swap partition or file to write a system snapshot to. No such space seems to be available for this.

    You should create a swap partition or file, preferably twice the size of the system's physical RAM.

    Then, run 'dpkg-reconfigure uswsusp' or edit the configuration file manually.
    I have a 2GB swap partition as my RAM is 2GB too.
    and I had Hibernate and Suspend options working before ...
    any way I grew the swap partition using GParted to 4GB, and then tried 'sudo dpkg-reconfigure uswsusp' and I get this message (with yes & no):
    The swap file or partition that was found in uswsusp's configuration file is not active.
    In most cases this means userspace software suspend will not work as expected. You should choose another swap space.
    However, in some rare cases, this configuration may be intentional.
    Continue without a valid swap space?
    now whatever I choose I get:
    No suitable swap space for software suspend
    To be able to suspend the system, uswsusp needs a swap partition or file to write a system snapshot to. No such space seems to be available for this.
    You should create a swap partition or file, preferably twice the size of the system's physical RAM.
    Then, run 'dpkg-reconfigure uswsusp' or edit the configuration file manually.
    Any ideas what is the problem?
    How can I "relink" the swap partition again ?
    How can I get Hibernate & Suspend options available?
    Last edited by Speed Of Light; May 22nd, 2010 at 01:53 PM.

  2. #2
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,630

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    Have you tried looking here for answers SwapFaq

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    any way I grew the swap partition using GParted to 4GB,
    Check the uuid for the swap partition and check the one in fstab

    Code:
    sudo blkid
    
    cat cat /etc/fstab |grep swap
    fstab's entry should match the one given by blkid - if it does not then it neeeds to be changed

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/fstab
    
    sudo swapon -a
    
    free -m

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    K-o-T,
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    Also
    Code:
    cat /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume
    has to have the correct UUID.

    Good Luck
    Hypertension = Take with a pinch of salt
    | Psychocats | Ubuntu Documentation | Howto [Solved] | BBcode list | Brother Website |

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    Quote Originally Posted by Speed Of Light
    Hibernate and Suspend options have disappeared from my "Indicator Applet Session"
    I tried to install "hibernate" package from Synaptic, but I got a dialog telling me: ...
    There is a possibility that you have not correctly assessed the situation. When you had suspend and hibernate working correctly it was probably with ACPI and installing software suspend (which in this case will be hibernate) is going to be a different thing. There is some chance that you want to investigate further into the possibility that what you might have needed to do was restore the options to the menu. Did the problem happen after an upgrade? I'm sure I saw some thread mentioning this issue.

    You might consider purging the hibernate package, it would only give you hibernate anyway. a swap is not required for suspend (suspend to RAM), it is a power supply function.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    Thank you all for you answers
    @ wojox: I did, but nothing is useful.
    @ forestpiskie: the UUDI is the same, here is the output of both commands:
    Code:
    ....
    /dev/sda8: UUID="721282a7-a88d-4ea5-9b75-b527f47835a6" TYPE="swap" 
    
    #UUID=721282a7-a88d-4ea5-9b75-b527f47835a6	none	swap	sw	0	0
    @ plucky: I had the same UUID too.
    @ QLee :

    I didn't understand everything you said
    Is it that ACPI hardware support is an alternative to software support ?
    What do you mean by "restore the options to the menu" ?
    No, the problem didn't happen after an upgrade. It happened after a while of fresh install.
    How do I purge the hibernate package?

    I think this could be useful: here is the output of "free" command after opening A LOT of programs:
    Code:
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       2057832    2037976      19856          0      15028     198236
    -/+ buffers/cache:    1824712     233120
    Swap:            0          0          0
    Last edited by Speed Of Light; May 21st, 2010 at 10:09 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    K-o-T,
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    Post output of
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    that is lowercase L not a 1
    Hypertension = Take with a pinch of salt
    | Psychocats | Ubuntu Documentation | Howto [Solved] | BBcode list | Brother Website |

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    Here it is:
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x53ffeeaa
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1        6528    52436128+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2            6529       13056    52436160    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3           13057       60801   383511650+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5           19744       37757   144697455    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6           37758       60801   185100898+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda7           13057       19220    49512267   83  Linux
    /dev/sda8           19221       19743     4200966   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    Last edited by Speed Of Light; May 22nd, 2010 at 01:58 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    Quote Originally Posted by Speed Of Light
    I didn't understand everything you said
    Yes, that happens, sometimes I write cryptically, knowing what I mean but hard for someone else to understand. You did the right thing though, ask for clarification.

    Quote Originally Posted by Speed Of Light
    Is it that ACPI hardware support is an alternative to software support ?
    ACPI (these days) is what gives you suspend and hibernate, when you system was working it was probably working through ACPI. You said it was working and then stopped working. The choice you made then was to try installing something else, which had little chance of "restoring" what you had previously because it is something different.

    Quote Originally Posted by Speed Of Light
    What do you mean by "restore the options to the menu" ?
    That was a reference to a sparse memory I had of reading about the issue you were describing, I just can't remember all of what the thread was about. As I mentioned, I remember reading a thread (or perhaps more than one). I meant the implication to be that you would use the search function of the forum to see if any threads were applicable to your problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by Speed Of Light
    No, the problem didn't happen after an upgrade. It happened after a while of fresh install.
    Is your Update Manager optioned to do upgrades without confirmation or not? "after and upgrade" might have been mentioned in the other trouble reports.


    Quote Originally Posted by Speed Of Light
    How do I purge the hibernate package?
    Go back to the package manager you used to install it and purge it from there. If I remember correctly you used Synaptic, so completely remove.

    But, don't just blindly take my advice or any advice until you understand and are sure that is what you want to do.

    Quote Originally Posted by Speed Of Light
    I think this could be useful: here is the output of "free" command after opening A LOT of programs:
    Yes, you mentioned that swap is not being used. However, since swap is not necessary in order to suspend (because it is suspend to RAM) that is certainly not going to be why there is no longer a suspend menu option. Did you follow my logic on that.
    Last edited by QLee; May 22nd, 2010 at 02:40 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Can't Hibernate nor Suspend cause swap isn't detected !

    I understand you well now, thanks a lot
    my update manager isn't optioned to do upgrades without confirmation, but I can't remember if this problem happened after a manual update or not.

    I tried removing "hibernate" package, restarted ... but it wasn't solved

    now I had another idea to check what could be the problem
    I want to try suspending or hibernating from terminal
    I found from here that I could run this to suspend:
    Code:
    sudo /etc/acpi/sleep.sh
    and I got this output:
    Code:
    cat: /var/lib/acpi-support/system-manufacturer: No such file or directory
    cat: /var/lib/acpi-support/system-product-name: No such file or directory
    cat: /var/lib/acpi-support/system-version: No such file or directory
    cat: /var/lib/acpi-support/bios-version: No such file or directory
    so the problem is in acpi-support, right?
    any more ideas?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •