Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anti-Virus IS the virus?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Anti-Virus IS the virus?

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showt...light=matousec

Apparently most all AV products hook the Win OS services to detect attempts to make changes. And apparently that leaves a hole for malware writers to exploit with multi-core or multi-CPU machines.

It seems 64bit versions of Win are immune though.

I'll admit I've always been suspicious of AV software doing more harm than good. The McAfee meltdown recently just reinforced that belief.
    Patrick McSwain - New 32bit & 64bit Ubuntu 10.04 user as of 5/1/2010.
    Networking new Linux computers into my existing Wintel-based small technical business.
    I was a DOS programmer in a previous life. No UNIX/Linux experience at all.

Beans

Re: Anti-Virus IS the virus?

A link to another Forum proves what ?
    This account is not active.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

I posted about this in the Cafe a few days ago.

The flaw allows viruses to evade detection when they are already running. It isn't like the viruses wouldn't work unless you had anti-virus.

One thing that amuses me is that when a Windows user finds their computer running slowly, they assume it's a virus causing the slowdown, and it never is. Viruses always try to evade detection and run silently underneath the surface of your computer, so they use as little CPU power as they can.
    I try to treat the cause, not the symptom. I avoid the terminal in instructions, unless it's easier or necessary. My instructions will work within the Ubuntu system, instead of breaking or subverting it. Those are the three guarantees to the helpee.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by KiwiNZ View Post
    A link to another Forum proves what ?
    Seems that thread had links explaining both sides, while many others have been one-sided.

Here's the Register article:

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2010/05...tch_av_bypass/