Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: opening a linux internet cafe

Beans
    Hidden!

opening a linux internet cafe

Hi, I am about to open an internet cafe and would like to use ubuntu, does anyone have any advice on how i should configure the machines or should i leave them with a stock install of ubuntu on.

Thank you.

Beans

Re: opening a linux internet cafe

Hi,

I have some experience using Ubuntu like that.

I suggest to use Ubuntu Netbook Remix's - netbook-lancher menu that allows to build the convenient list of software your clients will start and use.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

You will want to lock down certain things , " pessulus" will help ..

Beans
    Hidden!

Hi, sorry if this is a dumb question, what would you expect from an internet cafe if you went to use one of their computers?, is firefox enough or would you expect other things from the operating system?

Thank You.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Firefox would be enough... There was a distro that reverted to a logo of the company when the browser was closed and started it up again when the screen was clicked... I think it isn't maintained any more.

"DiscoverStation" seems like a nice way to lower costs - it can run lots of users from different monitors, you can have half the cafe running from one box.

Zencafe also looks good...

I think the distro I mentioned must not be maintained any more...
    Last edited by J V; May 15th, 2010 at 01:29 PM.
    Comitas. Brevitas. Nulla ambitio.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by OneLine View Post
    Hi, sorry if this is a dumb question, what would you expect from an internet cafe if you went to use one of their computers?, is firefox enough or would you expect other things from the operating system?

Thank You.