Thread: Many questions from a new linux user...

Beans

Many questions from a new linux user...

Hello everyone...

I'm new to ubuntu and I have been trying to look around and find answers to many questions that I have... yet the answers I found have been fairly indirect or not answering my questions.... however I apologize if my question is answered somewhere and I overlooked it...

but here are the questions I have...

I have a macbook pro 5 (triple booting with mac, windows 7, and ubuntu) and a couple things i was wondering...

is there a package I can download for my keyboard functions to work (like backlighting) and is there a package I can get for my trackpad so I can scroll with two fingers?

also can someone explain to me the difference between Ubuntu, Kubuntu, and Xubuntu? (I have read the wiki pages but I'm guessing i'm looking for not necessarily what IS the difference but why someone would prefer one over the others. what is the pros? the cons? etc...

and lastly I am involved with music... and Ubuntu Studio has interested me. I want to get it but I was wondering... do I have to overwrite Ubuntu on my partition for Ubuntu Studio? and can I install Ubuntu Studio from Ubuntu? Is there a special process to install it since I am on a mac or would I just install it like I did Ubuntu?

Sorry for all the questions but thanks in advance for helping a new user understand Ubuntu, and the world of Linux a little better.

S-Wrap

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Many questions from a new linux user...

This page should be of assistance with your Mac-specific issues. For configuring your trackpad, you might try gpointing-device-settings which, once installed, is available under System->Preferences->Pointing Devices and is separate from the basic Mouse configuration utility.

Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, and now Lubuntu are all basically Ubuntu but with different desktop environments and default programs.
    Ubuntu - GNOME
    Kubuntu - KDE