Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: xmonad?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    xmonad?

    I remember folks talking about this bugger last round. As a matter of fact I installed it on the minimal install with gnome desktop environment.

    Never could get it to start, couldn't find its files except one in /usr/bin.

    Thought I would get serious about it to day.

    All I can say is

    How in flinderation do you get this thing to do anything?

    I actually found a menu entry for it under "other" which was not selected. Selected it and tried to start it. No go.

    Added the launcher to the panel and tried to start from there. No go.

    Gave up long ago on the terminal because nothing happens there except to tell me it doesn't exist "no executable file". The properties of /usr/bin/xmonad claim it is.

    The man page refers to ".xmonad/xmonad.hs" can't locate that.

    Also refers to "~/.xinitrc file" as the place to add "exec xmonad". Can't find it either.

    Now it is obvious that I am doing something really stupid here or this would work. Have a good laugh, roll on the floor, and then, if you have the energy left, give me a clue.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    England
    Beans
    175
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: xmonad?

    Had a play with it before on Arch linux, never really got tiling window managers though.
    Arch Wiki - Xmonad has a pretty good guide for starting/setting up, might be of some use

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Beans
    16
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: xmonad?

    I just wrote up a Xmonad tutorial on a clean Lucid installation. If you can endure a weekend learning curve, I'm convince few will ever go back:

    http://genaud.net/2010/05/xmonad-on-lucid-lynx/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: xmonad?

    I copied that bugger and saved it here and over on the install in question. I will be working on this. Just curious.

    Some one brought it up in the discussion of G-S last round and made me want to see it.

    Don't know if I will like it but there is only one way to find out. It is not on one of my main installs so I can play with it a little here and there until I decide if it is for me or not. May want to keep it around just as a novelty, who knows. May just love the sucker too.

    Thanks a bunch.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    4,373
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: xmonad?

    I just shutdown my mangy install for the night but I'll give it a shot too , tomorrow .
    if it ain't broke you haven't tweaked it enough

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: xmonad?

    Well I had partial success.

    I had a failure to load any modules which may have to do with the command
    $ gconftool-2 -s /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager xmonad --type string
    which I entered as above while wondering if I needed to change;
    --type string
    to something that would actually make sense.

    I did get the option to use a xmonad session on login. It somewhat worked.

    On rebooting (by tty2), to both a gnome and a failsafe gnome session, I have no panels and can't create a launcher from the desktop right click menu and had no success in launching a CLI any other way.

    Here is a screen shot. The bare spot in upper right is my fault for not moving the screen shot box down but the error message is coherent.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    /home/Helsinki
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: xmonad?

    Quote Originally Posted by ranch hand View Post
    Well I had partial success.

    I had a failure to load any modules which may have to do with the command
    Code:
    conftool-2 -s /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager xmonad --type string
    which I entered as above while wondering if I needed to change;
    Code:
    --type string
    to something that would actually make sense.
    --type string changes the default string "gnome-wm" to "xmonad"

    The above command was correct, no need to change it to anything.

    You can test this with
    Code:
    gconftool-2 --get /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager
    which gives the setting currently active.

    Code:
    conftool-2 -s /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager im_just_a_test --type string
    which set's the setting to wanted string, in this case "im_just_a_test"
    I won't answer to difficult guestions.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: xmonad?

    That is kind of what I figured. I have no idea what to do next.

    I wonder if the problem is in my install. It is an upgraded (last round) 9.10>10.04>10.10 minimal install using the Gnome desktop instead of the Ubuntu desktop. I will continue to update the bugger for now and maybe just replace it with an install of "normal" 10.10. Have to think about it some and maybe poke it here and there a bit after looking at the man page again.

    It is in the maverick repo so I would think it should work somehow. I suspect I am just too noobish to see something obvious that I am doing to screw this.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: xmonad?

    I use the script below to sort of "install"
    Beside you need to install some sort of programs to make it pleasant.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install xmonad xmobar dmenu trayer

    Make gnome run xmonad wm

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    gconftool -t string -s /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager "xmonad"
    gconftool -t boolean -s /apps/nautilus/preferences/show_desktop false
    gconftool -s /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/panel "" -t string
    This is my ~/.xmobarrc I am using labtop so the battery you can sort or remove it.
    Code:
    Config { 
    	font = "-*-Fixed-Bold-R-Normal-*-13-*-*-*-*-*-*-*", 
    	bgColor = "black", 
    	fgColor = "#8822FF", 
    	position = TopW L 90, 
    	lowerOnStart = True, 
    	commands = [ 
    		Run Cpu ["-L","3","-H","50","--normal","green","--high","red"] 10, 
    		Run Network "eth0" ["-L","0","-H","32","--normal","green","--high","red"] 10, 
    		Run Memory ["-t","Mem: <usedratio>%"] 10, 
                    Run Battery ["-L","30","-H","60","--high","green","--normal","yellow","--low", "red"] 10,
    		Run Swap [] 10, 
    		Run Date "%V %a %b %_d %H:%M" "date" 10, 
    		Run StdinReader
    	], 
    	sepChar = "%", 
    	alignSep = "&&", 
    	template = "%StdinReader% && %cpu% | %eth0% | %memory% | %battery% | Week %date% "
    }
    The bread and butter ~/.xmonad/xmonad.hs.
    When you have Tall use alt + shift + x to minimize/hide window. alt + x to restore it. If there are too many windows it will hide the old ones too. You can get those auto hide windows back by moving the order of windows with alt + shift + j/k
    Code:
    import XMonad
    import XMonad.Actions.CycleWS
    import XMonad.Config.Gnome
    
    import XMonad.Hooks.DynamicLog
    import XMonad.Hooks.ManageDocks
    import XMonad.Hooks.ManageHelpers
    
    import XMonad.Layout.NoBorders
    import XMonad.Layout.Minimize
    import XMonad.Layout.LimitWindows
    import XMonad.Layout.Tabbed
    import XMonad.Layout.Named
    
    import qualified XMonad.StackSet as W
    import XMonad.Util.Run(spawnPipe)
    import XMonad.Util.EZConfig(additionalKeys)
    import System.IO
    
    myManageHook = composeAll [
    	isFullscreen --> doFullFloat ]
    
    myTabConfig = defaultTheme { inactiveBorderColor = "#FF0000",
    				inactiveColor = "#000000",
    				inactiveTextColor ="#00FFFF",
    				activeBorderColor = "#0000FF",
    				activeTextColor = "#00FF00",
    				activeColor = "#000000"}
    
    myLayout = tall ||| tab ||| full
    	where
    		tall = named "Tall" $ limitWindows 4 $ minimize
    			$ Tall 1 (3/100) (1/2)
    		tab = named "Tab" $ tabbed shrinkText myTabConfig
    		full = named "Full" $ Full
    
    main = do
    	xmproc <- spawnPipe "xmobar"
    	gnomeRegister :: MonadIO m => m()
    	xmonad $ gnomeConfig {
    		manageHook = manageDocks <+> myManageHook
    			<+> manageHook gnomeConfig,
    		layoutHook = smartBorders $ avoidStruts  $ myLayout,
    		focusedBorderColor = "#0000FF",
    		focusFollowsMouse = False,
    		logHook = do
    			dynamicLogWithPP $ xmobarPP {
    				ppOutput = hPutStrLn xmproc,
    				ppTitle = xmobarColor "blue" "" . shorten 50
    			}
    	} `additionalKeys`[
    		-- Minimize
    		((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_x),
    			(withFocused $ \f -> sendMessage $ MinimizeWin f)
                             >> windows W.focusDown),
    		((mod1Mask, xK_x), sendMessage RestoreNextMinimizedWin),
    		-- Hide Xmobar
    		((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_h), sendMessage ToggleStruts),
    		-- Workspace handling
    		---- Using left/right
    		((mod1Mask, xK_Right), nextWS),
    		((mod1Mask, xK_Left),  prevWS),
    		((mod1Mask .|. controlMask, xK_Right), shiftToNext >> nextWS),
    		((mod1Mask .|. controlMask, xK_Left),  shiftToPrev >> prevWS),
    		---- Using u/i
    		((mod1Mask, xK_i), nextWS),
    		((mod1Mask, xK_u), prevWS),
    		((mod1Mask .|. controlMask, xK_i), shiftToNext >> nextWS),
    		((mod1Mask .|. controlMask, xK_u), shiftToPrev >> prevWS),
    		-- Gnome Settings
    		((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_q), spawn "gnome-session-save --gui --logout"),
    --		((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_q), spawn "killall5"),
    		((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_comma), spawn "gnome-session-save --gui --shutdown-dialog"),
    		((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_Return), spawn "gnome-terminal"),
    		((mod1Mask, xK_Print), spawn "gnome-screenshot"),
    		-- Dmenu
    		((mod1Mask, xK_p), spawn "dmenu_run"),
    		((mod1Mask, xK_m), spawn "update-manager"),
    		((mod1Mask, xK_n), spawn "nautilus ~/")]
    This is my ~/.profile file to start trayer and volume control. It is not finished yet.
    Code:
    #gnome-shell --replace
    #gnome-settings-daemon
    
    if [ -x "/usr/bin/xmonad" ]
    then
    #	gnome-settings-daemon &
    	trayer --edge top --align right --SetDockType true \
    		--SetPartialStrut true --expand true --width 10 \
    		--height 17 --transparent true --tint 0x000000 --alpha 0 &
    #	nm-applet --sm-disabled&
    	gnome-volume-control-applet &
    fi
    There is a lot to learn when you get into xmonad. I am actually still learning. But if you have any question and I know the answer I will help you. Just let your imagination go.
    Last edited by LKjell; May 11th, 2010 at 09:43 PM. Reason: Change the focus behaviour so that minimize will work like close

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: xmonad?

    LKjell
    I will have to work on this.

    I am back on my "production" 10.10 but can do a lot of this in chroot. I will do what I can now.

    It would help if I was better at scripting but I will not learn any younger than I am now. This will probably take me along a ways.

    Thanks a whole big bunch.

    I am not sure I really like the concept of xmonad but I need to get it up and running somewhere, sometime to find out. This seems like the best opportunity to me.

    It was mentioned, last round in the G-S thread. I haven't had GS on anything for a while but what I saw of it was not real exciting. It looked like it would work but I am not sure that it will, in any way, be better, just different. And if they do not get a decent menu in it, it will be worse. Icons have their place but that app menu with all the huge icons is just silly, as is an unsorted text list for a menu.

    Xmonad may well be a better way to go or at least give us ideas to present for G-S as opposed to just whining.

    Like it or not, it sure does look interesting. It also looks quite worth the effort to learn something about. There are things that I do that may well be easier to do in xmonad.

    Thanks again. I think I need to go and fire up my chroot environment for "Mini" and abuse it some.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •