Thread: Highly Recommended Vaccine

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Thumbs down Highly Recommended Vaccine

I put much of this in another post but thought it should be posted as a new thread.

I recently had a new installation of Xubuntu Lucid corrupted after a week with a boot-up halt screen relating to mounting issues that I spent hours researching and could not fix. Since I am not that good at transferring items from a previous installation into a fresh install (and wonder how reliable this is), it takes me 2 nights to get a fresh install tweaked the way I want it. But luckily, I had made an image of my tweaked installation about an hour or two before my system became corrupted, so I just restored that image in about 5 minutes.

I HIGHLY recommend downloading the Parted Magic live cd (boot cd) and burn as an iso. Google PartedMagic. It comes with an app called CloneZilla which is awesome- on the idea of Norton Ghost, only more reliable. To use, all you have to do is set the bios to boot from CD, hook up a usb hard drive, and make an image of your ubuntu partition onto the external hard drive. Since it does not copy free space when you back up a partition, it is very fast (5-10 minutes to back up or restore), and the restores are flawless. Every time my system is running perfectly, I make an image, then restore it if I have issues that I or the community cannot solve in a reasonable time. It is easy to use, fast, and reliable and saves hours of trying to decipher system logs, researching fixes, or loading additional packages in the hopes of getting help. It is way better than ANY backup scheme that approaches backups from a file level rather than a partition level. And it makes you un-afraid to try something on your current system for fear of doing your installation irreversible harm.