Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How hard is to manage a dedicated server?

Beans

Question How hard is to manage a dedicated server?

Hi all,

I am thinking of getting this unmanaged dedicated server hosting:
    http://www.hetzner.de/en/hosting/pro...ootserver/eq4/

I think of installing ubuntu server on it and use it as:
    - Apache, PHP, MySql server
    - IMAP mail server
    - backup server

Now the big question - how hard is it to manage ubuntu server?

I have a lot of experience as windows network administrator, PHP and MySQL developer, I have some experience with apache on windows.

I was able to succesfully install php and mysql on ubuntu server through ssh. But I have no experience managing mail server. How hard is it to manage such server, so it will be secure enough.

What book would you recommend for this topic?

Thank you in advance for all your answers!

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: How hard is to manage a dedicated server?

It's quite exhausting trying to get used to the compiling. If you're just relying on apt-get then it shouldn't be that troublesome.

Configuring software and security are another matter... Keeping the firewall up to date, making sure that your mail server works correctly and that no one can abuse it, checking the logs on the a frequent basis., etc.

Beans

Thanks for your reply EarthMind.

Should I be compiling all the sotware? Are there any disadvantages to apt-get.

I don't have much experience with updating software on linux, how hard or complicated can it be?

Beans
    Hidden!

Technically, you don't have to compile anything because apt-get comes with a bunch of ready to use software. But in many cases apt-get isn't sufficient (which is also its disadvantage), such cases can be:

- the officially supported version or outdated or there is none;
    - it's missing customizations you need;
    - you want to compile stuff just for the sake of security/reliability;
    - etc.