Page 80 of 84 FirstFirst ... 30707879808182 ... LastLast
Results 791 to 800 of 838

Thread: GNOME Shell Testing

  1. #791
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by symon1980 View Post
    Compiz is not compatible with Gnome-shell. Why do people keep saying or assuming that it is???? its been covered many times....
    Mutter is a window manager
    Compiz is a window manager
    you cannot have both of them running at the same time....
    Unless they develop some hack to make it work which has not been planned. Gnome don't want compiz to be compatible with Gnome-shell
    Hi is writing about Gnome3 - not GNOME-SHELL! That's why

  2. #792
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by symon1980 View Post
    Compiz is not compatible with Gnome-shell. Why do people keep saying or assuming that it is???? its been covered many times....
    Mutter is a window manager
    Compiz is a window manager
    you cannot have both of them running at the same time....
    Unless they develop some hack to make it work which has not been planned. Gnome don't want compiz to be compatible with Gnome-shell
    Nobody has assumed anything as far as I know .....

    I asked 2 completely clear questions ( of which neither were answered )

    If you click on either of the links I posted they said nothing of the sort about adding compiz to Gnome-shell ...... the piece in the link did imply that mutter may be adding the compiz effects .... though ....
    I was merely asking for clarification of that said article .....

    ( In my previous Link all I showed was how I like the look of GNOME 3 with compiz ).

    Is this Gnome-Shell thing some kind of clique .... a little clique excluding any other input ?

    It asked at the beginning of this thread for technical questions .....

    Asking if compiz type effects are to be added to mutter is a technical question - technical people in the know could answer but refrain from doing so .... but in the clique type scenario that you seem to have here.

    * which as far as I can see excludes some USER's

    Your answer should have gone something like this.

    Merk,

    Gnome don't want compiz to be compatible with Gnome-shell - do they ?


    The answer is probably a simple ..... no .... but if you asked it - you might have got a response ..... thats how a clique works . ( its called ignorance )

    But if they do intend making some of the compiz effects work in Mutter -

    Then it is something I think that some of the users are interested in ...... I am ....

    I can understand wanting to be able to make GNOME3 of use to the wider community by not needing extra special graphics cards ..... but in time the graphics inbuilt into computers will advance and you will be left with a System that is old fashioned before it begins.

    If Gnome 3 is intended to be run on a 486 then thats what your design should be around and I applaud you for that it must take a lot of work to achieve that.

    These were a couple of quick observances of Gnome-shell

    The younger generation have choices though and I am sure that they will make them - in March 2011 but probably not just based on what will still run ok on a 486 .... although I do think they will like speed and quick performance.

    I also like an efficient system and a few effects .... and 3D just so you know what I would like you to tailor it around but seeing as I am just a user -
    I would not worry too much about that -
    Hope to see it make it into the next release ok

    ...... thanks for the reply ....... shame it did not answer either of the 2 questions asked though .....

    although this almost did .......

    Unless they develop some hack to make it work which has not been planned.
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; October 8th, 2010 at 06:45 PM.

  3. #793
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Guaynabo, PR
    Beans
    593
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by sgage View Post
    My compile fails in 22 as well, but with a different error
    [Edit: I didn't scroll down - looks like the same error]

    Code:
    /home/sgage/gnome-shell/install/lib/libgio-2.0.so: undefined reference to `g_main_context_invoke'
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[3]: *** [test-theme] Error 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/sgage/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell/src'
    make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/sgage/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell/src'
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/sgage/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell'
    make: *** [all] Error 2
    *** Error during phase build of gnome-shell: ########## Error running make   *** [1/1]
    Oh well, the version in the repos works, but I want to see what's new.
    Buuuuu :/

    How do I install the one on the repo hehehe I'll might just play with that for now?
    Last edited by sendblink23; October 8th, 2010 at 07:44 PM.
    Desktop Build mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70 | cpu: Phenom ii x4 965BE C3 @ 4.02Ghz | gfx: Sapphire + XFX 5770 CrossfireX + EVGA 9800GTX+
    ram: 8gb DDR3-1333Mhz | hd: 1TB (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) + 500gb (Snow Leopard 10.6.7) + 400gb (Kubuntu 11.04 x64)

  4. #794
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    687
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by sendblink23 View Post
    Buuuuu :/

    How do I install the one on the repo hehehe I'll might just play with that for now?
    should as simple as sudo apt-get install gnome-shell

    or you can install from software center or synaptic

  5. #795
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by sgage View Post
    My compile fails in 22 as well, but with a different error
    [Edit: I didn't scroll down - looks like the same error]

    Code:
    /home/sgage/gnome-shell/install/lib/libgio-2.0.so: undefined reference to `g_main_context_invoke'
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[3]: *** [test-theme] Error 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/sgage/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell/src'
    make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/sgage/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell/src'
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/sgage/gnome-shell/source/gnome-shell'
    make: *** [all] Error 2
    *** Error during phase build of gnome-shell: ########## Error running make   *** [1/1]
    Oh well, the version in the repos works, but I want to see what's new.
    1. jhbuild build
    2. wait for error then on other terminal session:
    rm ~/gnome-shell/install/lib64/*.la
    or in case of 32bits
    rm ~/gnome-shell/install/lib/*.la
    3. go back to main terminal session and use option 6


    This always works in case of libgio errors.
    Last edited by xtoudi; October 8th, 2010 at 08:54 PM.

  6. #796
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NH USA
    Beans
    1,267
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by xtoudi View Post

    This always works in case of libgio errors.
    Well, it worked this time anyway! Thanks! I had already removed /usr/lib/*.la, but didn't get the ones in /gnome-shell.

  7. #797
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    687
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    followed the advice above and it now works succesfully

    it doesn't look any different visually since the last time i used it, it is smoother though

  8. #798
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Guaynabo, PR
    Beans
    593
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    crap it sucks I can't test whats mentioned above... since my lan connection got lost(hasn't comeback since almost 2 hours ago - cable broadband connection)... no internet for my desktop

    So, I will test now on a laptop I have on which the wireless works fine(I also have dsl connection, but that router is too far from my desktop)... hopefully it goes through entirely on this laptop

    ---
    Update

    Perfect, it ran 1st try on the laptop
    Yes, I had to do on #22 what was mentioned on the above post:
    1. jhbuild build
    2. wait for error then on other terminal session:
    Quote:
    rm ~/gnome-shell/install/lib64/*.la
    or in case of 32bits
    Quote:
    rm ~/gnome-shell/install/lib/*.la
    3. go back to main terminal session and use option 6
    Last edited by sendblink23; October 8th, 2010 at 11:48 PM.
    Desktop Build mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70 | cpu: Phenom ii x4 965BE C3 @ 4.02Ghz | gfx: Sapphire + XFX 5770 CrossfireX + EVGA 9800GTX+
    ram: 8gb DDR3-1333Mhz | hd: 1TB (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) + 500gb (Snow Leopard 10.6.7) + 400gb (Kubuntu 11.04 x64)

  9. #799
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    218

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    compiling gnome-shell fails for me with this error:

    Code:
    checking for an ANSI C-conforming const... yes
    checking for js-config... no
    checking for JS... yes
    checking for JS_CallTracer in -lmozjs... no
    configure: error: SpiderMonkey is too old, Firefox 3 is required
    *** Fehler während Phase configure von gjs: ########## Fehler beim Ausführen von ./autogen.sh --prefix /home/costin/gnome-shell/install --libdir '/home/costin/gnome-shell/install/lib64'  --disable-static --disable-gtk-doc  *** [15/23]
    i have either firefox 3 (namarok) as well as ff 4 latest beta from ppa. i also have xulrunner-1.9.2-dev installed which is the newest as far as i know.

  10. #800
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hatboro, PA
    Beans
    2,531
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d View Post
    ( In my previous Link all I showed was how I like the look of GNOME 3 with compiz ).
    Silly question, but why are you posting those queries in a thread devoted to GNOME Shell?

    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d
    Is this Gnome-Shell thing some kind of clique .... a little clique excluding any other input ?
    It's just that this thread is supposed to be about GS, not about GNOME 3, or at least that was always my understanding.

    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d
    * which as far as I can see excludes some USER's
    Huh?
    Asus EeePC 1005HA: ElementaryOS Luna | Asus X501A: Windows 8.1 & Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr | Apple iMac G4: Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr | LG Optimus F3: Psycho Billy ROM | Nexus 10 Cyanogenmod 11

Page 80 of 84 FirstFirst ... 30707879808182 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •