Page 78 of 84 FirstFirst ... 28687677787980 ... LastLast
Results 771 to 780 of 838

Thread: GNOME Shell Testing

  1. #771
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    As the local ranchers here say. "there ain't no sacred cows here"

  2. #772
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    1,024
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by cariboo907 View Post
    As the local ranchers here say. "there ain't no sacred cows here"
    Wha-a-a-a-t!?!? You mean they don't thank the great cow spirit for the meat, cheese, money in their pockets, etc... ?

    Later, Seeker
    Last edited by seeker5528; October 4th, 2010 at 10:51 PM.

  3. #773
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    4,373
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    all hail the t-bone
    if it ain't broke you haven't tweaked it enough

  4. #774
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    2,179
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    In more relevant news, GNOME Shell is now at version 2.91.0
    If the only reason you think your software is better is because it's FOSS, you need to write better software

  5. #775
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    I like the latest release ...... clean and tidy ...... just add cairo-dock ..... its superb .... plus compiz ....

    LINK

    There should be a PPA like this with a blank desktop - for all people to have a play with ...........

    Just needs one addition ...... a save feature once its set up ....... as the user likes it .........
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; October 7th, 2010 at 04:08 AM.

  6. #776
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hatboro, PA
    Beans
    2,533
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d View Post
    I like the latest release ...... clean and tidy ...... just add cairo-dock ..... its superb .... plus compiz ....

    LINK

    There should be a PPA like this with a blank desktop - for all people to have a play with ...........

    Just needs one addition ...... a save feature once its set up ....... as the user likes it .........
    Maybe I misunderstood, but Compiz isn't compatible with GS.
    Asus EeePC 1005HA: ElementaryOS Luna | Asus X501A: Windows 8.1 & Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr | Apple iMac G4: Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr | LG Optimus F3: Psycho Billy ROM | Nexus 10 Cyanogenmod 11

  7. #777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Compiz seems to be working for me now ......

    After doing a direct upgrade from that PPA and using Gnome 3 .....
    ( The overall look is good - and the functionality is excellent )

    If transparent overlays could be added to this using the function keys to give it more options like the way you had the Gnome Workspace Layout that would be good .....
    to be able to toggle the options on and off would be even better .....

    The visual effects mode changes for me from right clicking on the desktop - so this allowed some of the compiz effects to work for me


    Just if someone could tell me what to do to get it to stick with the visual effects - it always forgets my settings .....

    Each time I re-boot I do not really want to have to keep setting compiz effects to work again - is there a easy way to do this .....
    one line of code as it starts up in the startup manager maybe !


    ... I like it now ..... just the way it is ..... looks great and so easy to use mouseover and one click to get where I want to be .... LINK
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; October 7th, 2010 at 12:10 PM.

  8. #778
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    1,024
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d View Post
    After doing a direct upgrade from that PPA and using Gnome 3 .....
    ( The overall look is good - and the functionality is excellent )
    From my understanding of the way things work, Compiz with Gnome 3 shouldn't be significantly different than Compiz with Gnome 2.

    [B]Each time I re-boot I do not really want to have to keep setting compiz effects to work again - is there a easy way to do this .....
    one line of code as it starts up in the startup manager maybe !
    Assuming compiz does the correct thing if you treat it like a normal window manager... Creating a file in your home directory named .xprofile and including the following line of text

    Code:
    export WINDOW_MANAGER="/usr/bin/compiz"
    should work.

    Otherwise you might have to go to 'Startup Applications' and add an item that uses the exec line

    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Later, Seeker
    Last edited by seeker5528; October 7th, 2010 at 08:24 PM. Reason: more info on where the export line goes

  9. #779
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Cheers Seeker5528

    That works great ..... now I have a nice neat desktop ...... I like it ........ Thank you

    Last edited by 23dornot23d; October 7th, 2010 at 09:08 PM.

  10. #780
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    687
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    why cant i build gnome-shell

    when i try get.

    Code:
    git clone git://git.gnome.org/gdk-pixbuf
    Initialized empty Git repository in /home/terry/gnome-shell/source/gdk-pixbuf/.git/
    remote: Counting objects: 229298, done.
    remote: Compressing objects: 100% (32561/32561), done.
    remote: Total 229298 (delta 196967), reused 228518 (delta 196355)
    Receiving objects: 100% (229298/229298), 133.74 MiB | 395 KiB/s, done.
    Resolving deltas: 100% (196967/196967), done.
    git pull --rebase
    Current branch master is up to date.
    *** Configuring gdk-pixbuf *** [7/23]
    ./autogen.sh --prefix /home/terry/gnome-shell/install --libdir '/home/terry/gnome-shell/install/lib'  --disable-static --disable-gtk-doc 
    ./autogen.sh: 113: autopoint: not found
    *** Error during phase configure of gdk-pixbuf: ########## Error running ./autogen.sh --prefix /home/terry/gnome-shell/install --libdir '/home/terry/gnome-shell/install/lib'  --disable-static --disable-gtk-doc  *** [7/23]
    
      [1] Rerun phase configure
      [2] Ignore error and continue to clean
      [3] Give up on module
      [4] Start shell
      [5] Reload configuration
      [6] Go to phase "wipe directory and start over"
      [7] Go to phase "clean"
      [8] Go to phase "distclean"
    choice:
    tried 1 and 2 = get same message
    tried 3 and it finishes but gnome-shell and other packages dont build and therefore doesn't work.
    trued 6 and get same message.

    i have even tried deleting the whole gnome-shell folder from home dir and starting again still get this message.

    any ideas

Page 78 of 84 FirstFirst ... 28687677787980 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •