Page 70 of 84 FirstFirst ... 2060686970717280 ... LastLast
Results 691 to 700 of 838

Thread: GNOME Shell Testing

  1. #691
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    2,179
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by Madspyman View Post
    Just installed the version from the repo on my Maverick partition, it not only didn't work but also kicked me out to the GDM login. I remember back in Karmic when I could use gnome-shell flawlessly. I'll have to try the version from the ppa to see if I get better results.
    Why not just build from source?
    If the only reason you think your software is better is because it's FOSS, you need to write better software

  2. #692
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by Merk42 View Post
    Why not just build from source?
    I don't know about Madspyman, but I have problems downloading from the git repository, I tried the other day and after 4 hours it was still sitting a 0%.

    Other than a bug when switching users gnome-shell from the repositories works quite well for me.

  3. #693
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NY
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by Merk42 View Post
    Why not just build from source?
    Thats usually what I end up doing, didn't help in Lucid when I tried it though, I haven't been able to get shell working properly since Karmic. Sometimes installing fglrx helps not for long though, and currently that's not an option in Maverick.

  4. #694
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Beans
    2,455
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by ranch hand View Post
    The edgers ppa is the only one. The only other thing I add is medibuntu.

    I think all the relevant specs for my box are in my sig.

    It could just be my video card. The bugger is poorly supported all around. The OSS drivers have always been much better than the ATI drivers and still are.

    Under 10.04(testing) I had to have the edgers drivers to get GS to work when I installed it in that cycle. Then the default drivers caught up and GS worked with those. About 2 weeks before 10.04 was released GS (build variety) refused to work and I needed the partition for ISO testing and never reinstalled it.

    Have not been able to get it to work in 10.10 at all. Beats me.

    Can't get Unity to work either although it seems to be slightly better without the edgers drivers (doesn't work either way but with out those drivers tty works).
    Hi Ranch hand,

    I just found this bug report:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ti/+bug/626743

    It is about xserver-xorg-video-ati driver being incompatible with GS window manager (mutter).
    You might see this as your system freezes, perhaps mutter dies.

  5. #695
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South East Montana
    Beans
    6,153

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Yup, I believe that is the problem. I have a similar problem with Unity that has this same basis.

    Mutter will, I am sure, come around soon, at least for Unity (I think they use a slightly different version) because of the priority Unity has in this release.

    The upcoming ISO testing will see the OS that I have GS on reinstalled. I have fooled with it too much to trust the results. I will reinstall GS and continue to see if it works.

    I may fool with my bios and see if switching to the integrated Intel video controller works better with both of them. I think some folks are having some difficulty with them with Intel too.

    I would REALLY like to be able to compare the two.

    The screen shots I have seen make it look like some of my biggest problems with GS have seen some real improvement. Oh well, just need to wait.
    Dell 480 XPS 3G ram Quad Core 2.40GHz, Radeon HD 2400 PRO, Audigy1, 3x320G HDD, 320G External, Debian Testing for use, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian Sid for FUN

  6. #696
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NY
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry33 View Post
    Hi Ranch hand,

    I just found this bug report:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ti/+bug/626743

    It is about xserver-xorg-video-ati driver being incompatible with GS window manager (mutter).
    You might see this as your system freezes, perhaps mutter dies.
    This would explain my problem as well with both shell and unity.

  7. #697
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: GNOME Shell Testing

    Am I the only one getting this:

    https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=628381

  8. #698
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    207
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Gnome Shell (in Maverick)

    Hi,

    Trying to get Gnome Shell up and running (in Maverick, but that's all fine).

    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ricotz/testing
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install gnome-shell
    sudo apt-get gnome3-session
    If I now type
    Code:
    sudo gnome-shell --replace
    Then I get the (pretty cool!) gnome 3 desktop environment. But, I don't want to type gnome-shell --replace, I want to log into gnome shell. Hence I installed gnome3-session.

    So the suggestion from a tutorial is to uninstall gnome-session, and install gnome3-session.

    Q1: sudo apt-get remove gnome-session-* uninstalls ubuntu-desktop. Is that what I should do? sudo apt-get install gnome3-session does not reinstall ubuntu-desktop. Don't I still need ubuntu-desktop? I've tried what the tutorial proposed anyway, ending up with the probem that X is not starting.

    Now, as a workaround, I can add "sudo gnome-shell --replace" as a startup script, but that's a bit lame. I just want to replace gnome2 with gnome3 (gnome shell).

    Q2: Different website claims that I can change the session manager in System->Pref->desktop. I don't have that application in Maverick. Any other way available?

    Either the answer to Q1 or Q2 might help me getting gnome3 up and running.

    Thanks a lot in advance!

    Bas

  9. #699
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Gnome Shell (in Maverick)

    you might already find a thread about gnome-shell into maverick subforum

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1476241

  10. #700
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    207
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Gnome Shell (in Maverick)

    looks like dependencies aren't set properly.

    sudo apt-get remove gnome-session-* also removes gdm and ubuntu-desktop
    sudo apt-get install gnome3-session does not install gdm.

    Reinstalled gdm after installing gnome3-session
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gnome3-session
    sudo apt-get install gdm
    gdm start gave an error, so just ran sudo reboot.

    After that, I logged right into gnome-shell.

    Is this supposed to be the "how-to-install-gnome-shell"?

    It works now, so no problem, but still I have the feeling I made life a bit harder then necessary.

    Thanks all.

    Bas

Page 70 of 84 FirstFirst ... 2060686970717280 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •