Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some Questions Before Installing Ubuntu

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Some Questions Before Installing Ubuntu

ok i am about to install Ubuntu 10.04 with STANDARD dual boot set-up (No Wubi, No Virtual Machine). Existing OS being Windows 7. But some questions need to be answered before this.

I have existing 5 partitions.
    C: 32GB NTFS (Primary)
    D: 32GB NTFS (Logical)
    E: 32GB NTFS (Logical)
    F: 32GB NTFS (Logical)
    G: 21GB NTFS (Primary)

I am windows expert but absolute beginner when it come to Linux. So far i have installed ubuntu only once on virtual machine, just a couple of weeks ago.

My plan is to install ubuntu on G partitions (if my guess is correct, it would be sda4 during ubuntu installation). I will install root, home and swap all by dividing G partition. And I prefer manual partitioning over all other options.

My questions are:
    1. Is it necessary for ubuntu to be installed on a primary partition?

2. Is 21GB space enough for ubuntu 10.04? Will it effect ubuntu's running speed and performance? (Since My primary OS will still be Windows because other family members who are extreme novice will be using my computer for watching youtube videos. So i am forced to install ubuntu on as less space as possible.)

3. Should I still defragment all the partitions, even if the partition i am going to install ubuntu on is totally empty? (personally i don't see any need for doing so)

4. Should I still shrink one of the partitions? (personally i don't see any need for doing so)

5. I want F: partition to be accessible from both Operating Systems. So should I format it with fat32? Or NTFS still has advantage in this scenario? (i already know fat32 is not a journaling FS. But for a couple of reasons i want to format F: with FAT32)