Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problem setting console resolution. vbeinfo in grub2 doesn't report all resolutions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Problem setting console resolution. vbeinfo in grub2 doesn't report all resolutions

    I have a Asus EEE PC 1005P which I installed a Command-line system on using the Alternate Installer CD of Ubuntu Lucid Lynx. I do not have (or want) the X Window System installed.

    I want to change my console screen resolution (not inside X) to 1024x600. But it isn't reported when I use vbeinfo inside grub2:

    Code:
        grub> vbeinfo
        VBE info:   version: 3.0  OEM software rev: 1.0
                    total memory: 8128 KiB
        List of compatible video modes:
        Legend: P=Packed pixel, D=Direct color, mask/pos=R/G/B/reserved
        0x112:   640 x 480 x 32   Direct, mask: 8/8/8/8  pos: 16/8/0/24
        0x114:   800 x 600 x 16   Direct, mask: 5/6/5/0  pos: 11/5/0/0
        0x115:   800 x 600 x 32   Direct, mask: 8/8/8/8  pos: 16/8/0/24
        0x101:   640 x 480 x 8    Packed
        0x103:   800 x 600 x 8    Packed
        0x111:   640 x 480 x 16   Direct, mask: 5/6/5/0  pos: 11/5/0/0
        Configured VBE mode (vbe_mode) = ox101
        grub>
    Relevant parts of sudo lspci -v:

    Code:
        ...     ...
        
        00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller
                Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 83ac
                Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 28
                ...
                Kernel driver in use: i915
                Kernel modules: i915
        
        00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller
                Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 83ac
                Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 28
                ...
        
        ...     ...
    Any ideas on how I can set the console resolution like I want it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lubuntu One Stop Group
    Beans
    141
    Distro
    Lubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Problem setting console resolution. vbeinfo in grub2 doesn't report all resolutio

    I'm having the exact same problem.
    Running vbeinfo does not output the resolution of my monitor (1440x900).
    But it is listed when I run
    Code:
    sudo hwinfo --framebuffer
    I'm using the NVIDIA proprietary drivers. When I used the nouveau drivers, then there was no problem.
    Any suggestions anyone?
    My Blog
    Using Kubuntu + Lubuntu

    Give me ambiguity or give me something else.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    12

    Re: Problem setting console resolution. vbeinfo in grub2 doesn't report all resolutio

    Similar problem here. I'm trying change my consoles to 1024x768. The boot menu screen gets changed but not the consoles.

    This is nothing new, though. I've never had success in changing the console resolution in any version of Ubuntu.

    Kent (also)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    294
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Problem setting console resolution. vbeinfo in grub2 doesn't report all resolutio

    hey I have the same problem and here is my thread
    | Dell XPS M1530 | C2D T8300 @2.4GHz | Nvidia GeForce 8600mGT 256MB GDDR3 | 2x2GB DDR2 @667MHz |
    | Desktop | Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz | Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 896MB GDDR3 | 3x2GB DDR3 @1333MHz |

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    294
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Problem setting console resolution. vbeinfo in grub2 doesn't report all resolutio

    and by the way gastly, do you have an analog lcd?



    sorry for the double post....I was just tryin to figure out what 'quick reply' does...
    Last edited by inso_741; May 21st, 2010 at 08:35 AM.
    | Dell XPS M1530 | C2D T8300 @2.4GHz | Nvidia GeForce 8600mGT 256MB GDDR3 | 2x2GB DDR2 @667MHz |
    | Desktop | Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz | Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 896MB GDDR3 | 3x2GB DDR3 @1333MHz |

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    61

    Question Re: Problem setting console resolution. vbeinfo in grub2 doesn't report all resolutio

    I wonder if anyone managed to sort this out. I have a similar problem.

    I installed ubuntustudio-look on Ubuntu 10.04, but it added its own usplash screen. I think it set the size to 640x480. All it does is flicker during boot, which would be fine except when users have to enter the dmcrypt key during boot. Oddly, they complain.

    vbeinfo tells me that supported resolution sizes are upto 1024x768. I changed the /etc/default/grub with the line
    GRUB_GFXMODE=1024x768
    and ran update-grub.

    However this did not remove the flicker nor change the resolution. Suspect I missed something.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •