Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Should have waited to upgrade to 10.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    38

    Should have waited to upgrade to 10.04

    Computer was running fine under 9.10. Now I have a problem with PulseAudio that says, "Waiting for sound system to respond"

    And to top it off, I have some ICE error when I try to login.

    Not to mention my Rhythmbox still isn't working since the upgrade.

    10.04 has been a bigger pain than it's worth...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    One Step Below Heaven
    Beans
    722
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Should have waited to upgrade to 10.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Kangaroo_Style View Post
    Computer was running fine under 9.10. Now I have a problem with PulseAudio that says, "Waiting for sound system to respond"

    And to top it off, I have some ICE error when I try to login.

    Not to mention my Rhythmbox still isn't working since the upgrade.

    10.04 has been a bigger pain than it's worth...
    Did you do a clean install or a upgrade through the upgrade manager ?
    Make Google your friend
    Please Mark threads as solved when they have been answered

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    38

    Re: Should have waited to upgrade to 10.04

    Quote Originally Posted by sadaruwan12 View Post
    Did you do a clean install or a upgrade through the upgrade manager ?

    Went through the upgrade manager.

    Luckily for me I still have sound in Skype, and I can voice/video chat. Which is essential for me right now.

    1. I cannot adjust volume, due not being able to access sound menu through > preferences > sound
    2. I cannot use Rhythmbox (I just switched to Banshee and that works great, but it's just a work around instead of a solution) [Solved] - (sudo cp /usr/lib/libtotem-plparser.so /usr/lib/libtotem-plparser.so.12) Fixed the problem.
    3. Now I get some ICE error, that I've never had before.

    I've been going through old threads where people have had the same problem and tried deleting the .pulse folder, and I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Pulseaudio to no avail.
    Last edited by Kangaroo_Style; May 2nd, 2010 at 04:01 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DR
    Beans
    1,346
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Should have waited to upgrade to 10.04

    i always try the live-cd or installing to a new partition (keeping both versions)

    never had a problem when i do this or just use the older, till an update fixes the problem

    you should probably reinstall 10.04 from cd, seems like a bad install. remember to backup
    Last edited by madjr; May 2nd, 2010 at 04:04 PM.
    When close to achieving you quit! If you don't try you failed. Real Winners are not afraid of losing.
    ubuntu newsletter ; Report Papercuts (small annoyances/bugs) ; beginners guide and video http://youtube.com/watch?v=Z0tNpt5RZYI

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    38

    Re: Should have waited to upgrade to 10.04

    Quote Originally Posted by madjr View Post
    i always try the live-cd and another partition

    you should probably reinstall 10.04 from cd, remember to backup

    Yeah, I think that's the next step. Luckily, I was able to configure Skype to still work. However I don't have the means to get an external hard drive at the moment to back everything up. But this just goes to show that it's an investment I need to make soon.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    One Step Below Heaven
    Beans
    722
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Should have waited to upgrade to 10.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Kangaroo_Style View Post
    Went through the upgrade manager.

    Luckily for me I still have sound in Skype, and I can voice/video chat. Which is essential for me right now.

    1. I cannot adjust volume, due not being able to access sound menu through > preferences > sound
    2. I cannot use Rhythmbox (I just switched to Banshee and that works great, but it's just a work around instead of a solution) [Solved] - (sudo cp /usr/lib/libtotem-plparser.so /usr/lib/libtotem-plparser.so.12) Fixed the problem.
    3. Now I get some ICE error, that I've never had before.

    I've been going through old threads where people have had the same problem and tried deleting the .pulse folder, and I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Pulseaudio to no avail.

    Could you tell what is your ICE error and I used 9.10 earlier what I did I just cleaned installed every thing. It advised to do a clean installation when you're migrating to a newer OS.

    Try to do a clean installation cos it also create a new hardware profile and might solve your issue.
    Make Google your friend
    Please Mark threads as solved when they have been answered

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •