Thread: Sony Vaio P - Complete Installation Guide

Beans

Lightbulb Sony Vaio P - Complete Installation Guide

Please could anyone make a complete hardware driver installation guide for the Sony Vaio P?

I am totally new to Linux and althought most things work straigh away on the new Ubuntu 10.04 netbook remix on my Vaio P. But the graphic and very slow and I can't even get Skype and Flash plug-in to work.

I could really want to use Ubuntu as I am sick of the pre-installed Vista. However at this rate I am not getting the things to work properly..

Please could any expert make a guide so that all Sony Vaio P users could benefit?

Many Thanks!

Beans

Re: Sony Vaio P - Complete Installation Guide

I recently tried installing 10.04 netbook edition on my Vaio P.
    The boot/shutdown time was amazing compared to the XP i am running currently.
    Like you mentioned most things seemed to work right out of the box but the following didn't work for me:

1) there is no way to install the needed graphics driver under lucid currently
    2) the system will suspend but would not properly recover
    3) the system will not power down during hibernation
    4) LCD brightness buttons didn't work

as far as i could can remember everything else seemed to work fine.

even though shutdown took under 5 sec for me,
    not being able to suspend or hibernate on a netbook was unaccpetable for me.

so i decided to try karmic (9.10) netbook remix.
    i was surprised and happy to find that even though karmic is an older release
    suspend and the LCD brightness control buttons now works properly.
    hibernate still doesn't work. the graphics is slow... slower even than lucid at first.
    but following an online guide on how to install the driver, i am getting decent speeds for
    my browsing needs. so i am sticking with karmic UNR for now.

I don't understand why things that worked on karmic no longer works under lucid but ... oh well i can't complain.