Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wireless not working after lucid upgrade

Beans

Wireless not working after lucid upgrade

Hi there.

I need help. After upgrading from Karmic to Lucid, no wireless networks are found on my computer—an acer travelmate 5510.

On Karmic, wifi worked flawlessly "out of the box"—no windows drivers or anything needed. I have checked under Administration/hardware drivers; it tells me "no proprietary drivers are in use on this system." Cabled internet access through my wifi router works fine.

I would really appreciate anyone who can help me get wifi up and running under Lucid. Despite having used Karmic for a while, I am relatively new to the inner workings of Ubuntu / linux systems, and really don't know where to go from here.

Thanks
    —eshandy

sudo lshw -C net readout:

*-network UNCLAIMED
    description: Ethernet controller
    product: AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter
    vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
    version: 01
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix cap_list
    configuration: latency=0
    resources: memory:c0200000-c020ffff
    *-network
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
    vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
    physical id: 1
    bus info: pci@0000:06:01.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: 10
    serial: 00:1b:38:21:01:6c
    size: 100MB/s
    capacity: 100MB/s
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
    configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=full ip=192.168.11.3 latency=64 link=yes maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s
    resources: irq:21 ioport:a000(size=256) memory:c0300000-c03000ff

iwconfig readout:
    lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

Beans
    Distro