Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: No sound in Ubuntu 10.04 RC

Beans

No sound in Ubuntu 10.04 RC

Hi,

I'm very new to Linux. I installed Ubuntu 10.04 RC in HP Compaq CQ62-111TU ( C=Intel Core i5 430m + 4GB DDR III + Intel HD audio) It works fine except for no sound from 2 speakers. But I can listen to sounds through head phone jack. External mic is also working fine but internal mic do not. I went through a one of the threads in this forum on sound problems but it didn't resolve my problem. Some of the information regarding my heardware generated with the Terminal are given below.

noma@anoma-laptop:~$ aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: HDA Generic [HDA Generic]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 3: INTEL HDMI [INTEL HDMI]

anoma@anoma-laptop:~$ lspci -v

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 1425
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 22
    Memory at d4400000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

( When boot with win 7 it shows that there are two audio drivers 1.) Intel HD audio
    2.) Realtek audio )

Can any one help me to get my laptop's sound properly?

Looking for an early reply,

Thanks,

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: No sound in Ubuntu 10.04 RC

Change the volume directly with alsamixer or sudo alsamixer. Worked for my USB headset.
    Laptop: i7 4930MX @3.9GHz undervolted; 32GB 4x8GB Kingston HyperX Impact 1600MHz; Nvidia 780M 4GB; Samsung 840 EVO mSATA 250GB; Ubuntu 16.04 and Windows 10 Pro.
    Ubuntu #8076 / Linux #429448

Beans

Volume is already increased to Max using Alsa mixer. But still not working..!!

Beans

I'm having the same problem with the same HDA device