View Poll Results: Do you use the command line?

Voters
159. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, every day

    122 76.73%
  • Yes, at least once a week

    16 10.06%
  • Occasionally, when I really need to

    17 10.69%
  • Nope

    4 2.52%
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Do you use the command line regularly?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Beans
    144
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    I maintain that it is almost completely unnecessary to use command line if you don't want to. The command line scares a lot of new linux users I find. I personally love it and find it much easier to use because all the tools are right there without any searching through menus to find them. But most of the tools ARE in the menus if you are so inclined to search for them!

  2. #22

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    I'm at the terminal more than 99 percent of the time I use the computer.
    Ubuntu user #7247 :: Linux user #409907
    inconsolation.wordpress.com

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Mistake by the Lake
    Beans
    1,813

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    Is there a way to embed a terminal in nautilus? I think that would be cool.
    Quote Originally Posted by Homer J. Simpson
    "Dinner is the perfect break between work, and drunk."


  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Beans
    1,546
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    Quote Originally Posted by BrokenKingpin View Post
    There are a lot of things where command line is required.
    required? Like what?

    Usually when I use the command line, it's by choice even though a GUI is available (eg. apt-get, ssh, ping, nano, sudo nautilus)

    I must admit, though, that given a good keyboard typing things is sometimes better than point-and-click. It also depends on the system; my 12" laptop can be annoying trying to click just the right spot, plus using the pointer is not completely precise while the keyboard strokes are predictable and I don't have to move my hands as much.
    Friends don't let friends wear a red shirt on landing-party duty.
    DACS | Connecticut LoCo Team | My Blog
    Ubuntu User# : 17583, Linux User# : 477531

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    i use it every day because its quicker than clicking around with a mouse. unless something breaks i dont need to use it though, and nothing has broken on this system for about a year.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    Quote Originally Posted by dgw View Post
    People say it's optional. I'm curious how many people use the command line regularly. Or I just wanted to post a silly poll, either way.
    I use Gentoo Linux. I use the command-line every day and it is not optional.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    Quote Originally Posted by aeiah View Post
    i use it every day because its quicker than clicking around with a mouse.
    +1...besides, I already got used to it, so now it takes me a while to find the "GUI way" of doing things

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    I never, ever use the command line unless it's absolutely necessary. It's just like having your shoelaces tied together: you can do it, it's just not a very efficient way of getting about.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    I'm from the internet
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    Quote Originally Posted by swoll1980 View Post
    Is there a way to embed a terminal in nautilus? I think that would be cool.
    You can do this if you use Konqueror as a file manager instead of Nautilus. I believe you also need to install Konsole since it uses that terminal instead of gnome terminal.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Do you use the command line regularly?

    Quote Originally Posted by swoll1980 View Post
    Is there a way to embed a terminal in nautilus? I think that would be cool.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install nautilus-open-terminal

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •