Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    Quote Originally Posted by Simon_WM View Post
    HI Paul,

    How did you select " dell-eg " and reboot,
    i've followd the steps in " Terminal" but hasent worked for me =[
    it also say:
    zless /usr/share/doc/alsa-base/driver/HD-Audio-Models.txt.gz - Permission Denied

    * * EDIT * *

    Hi All,
    re-read the post and wrote full command into Terminal.. and almost fixed =]
    Am Stuck on how to select " dell-eg "
    Don't worry about that. If you want to use dell-eq (that's a q, not a g), do as directed in post #9. This is entered in a terminal:
    Code:
    gksu gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
    and will open the file in your text editor. There you will add the options line.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    How would i apply this fix (which worked for me in gnome on 10.04) to Kubuntu 10.04 which i am now running. it is a clean install and of course these commands do not work. I am very new to linux and would appreciate step by step commands for the Konsole that would help out quite a bit

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    Quote Originally Posted by Nihilor View Post
    How would i apply this fix (which worked for me in gnome on 10.04) to Kubuntu 10.04 which i am now running. it is a clean install and of course these commands do not work. I am very new to linux and would appreciate step by step commands for the Konsole that would help out quite a bit
    Maybe this:
    Code:
    kdesudo kate /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    worked like a charm this fixes all of my install bugs (until i find more) ty

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    5

    Angry Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    I get sound out of built-ins, but neither of the 2 headphone jacks. The previously mentioned alsa-base.conf line addition does not work for me. This is a brand new Studio 15 with the Arrandale Core I5.

    I'm running a patched kernel (2.6.32-21) to fix the suspend/resume problem, so could that be the problem? I doubt it, but what do I know?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    Quote Originally Posted by dzajic View Post
    I get sound out of built-ins, but neither of the 2 headphone jacks. The previously mentioned alsa-base.conf line addition does not work for me. This is a brand new Studio 15 with the Arrandale Core I5.

    I'm running a patched kernel (2.6.32-21) to fix the suspend/resume problem, so could that be the problem? I doubt it, but what do I know?
    Can you post the output of these terminal commands for me please:
    Code:
    uname -a
    aplay -l
    cat /proc/asound/version
    head -n 1 /proc/asound/card*/codec#*
    Please also include the make/model of your PC/Laptop.
    Please post text output using code tags (the # in toolbar)

    Also, have you tried alsamixer?
    Alsamixer
    Code:
     alsamixer
    Press <F6> to select the correct soundcard.
    Press <F3> to show playback levels. <F4> selects capture levels [or use <Tab>]
    Use the left/right arrow keys to select and up/down arrow keys to change levels. <M> to mute/unmute.

    I usually suggest gnome-alsamixer for enabling soundcard elements, but that's for gnome. Is kmix equivalent in kde?
    Last edited by lidex; June 1st, 2010 at 05:58 AM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    Dell Studio 1558

    Code:
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 3: INTEL HDMI [INTEL HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    
    Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.21.
    
    ==> /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 <==
    Codec: IDT 92HD73C1X5
    
    ==> /proc/asound/card0/codec#3 <==
    Codec: Intel G45 DEVIBX

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    Quote Originally Posted by dzajic View Post
    Dell Studio 1558

    Code:
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 3: INTEL HDMI [INTEL HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    
    Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.21.
    
    ==> /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 <==
    Codec: IDT 92HD73C1X5
    
    ==> /proc/asound/card0/codec#3 <==
    Codec: Intel G45 DEVIBX
    Try these options - only one line at a time. You'll need to reboot to see changes and then check alsamixer.
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=dell
    options snd-hda-intel model=dell-bios
    options snd-hda-intel model=dell-m6
    options snd-hda-intel model=ref
    options snd-hda-intel model=auto

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    Quote Originally Posted by lidex View Post
    Try these options - only one line at a time. You'll need to reboot to see changes and then check alsamixer.
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=dell
    options snd-hda-intel model=dell-bios
    options snd-hda-intel model=dell-m6
    options snd-hda-intel model=ref
    options snd-hda-intel model=auto
    Thanks for the tips. I tried them all. No dice. Not sure what I'm supposed to do in alsamixer. I was supposed to add these lines to the end of the /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf, right?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Headphones not working (but detected on alsamixer)

    You may need to enable it. Try gnome-alsamixer.
    Gnome-alsamixer
    Using Alt+F2 run dialog
    Code:
     gnome-alsamixer
    Use 'Edit -> Sound Card Properties' menu to enable elements.
    Soundcard tab to select / adjust levels.
    To install:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gnome-alsamixer
    Go to sound preferences and select headphones in the output tab/connector.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •