Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Firefox can't establish connection to server

Beans

Firefox can't establish connection to server

Hey everybody, i'm still new to ubuntu but i'm a capable person and have made the switch from windows, yay! So my problem i believe is within firefox or ubuntu because i can connect to the same server when i boot up using windows7. Anyway, i don't know much about networks and such and i was hoping someone could help me out with this. Here is a copy of the error message i get:

Unable to connect

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at ftp.idsoftware.com.

* The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
    moments.

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
    connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
    that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

I know this has to do with gaming but i get the same message when i try to connect to my schools email server. What i have tried on my own is disabling my firewall, temporarily, and it had no effect so i know its not my firewall however i haven't a clue about proxy's or how they work so maybe it's that? I also know its not either of the other two problems because i wouldn't be posting this if i had that severe of a network problem. Any help at all with this would be greatly appreciated thank you!

Beans

Re: Firefox can't establish connection to server

Are you on a network? Are you connecting to this site OK?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release