Thread: Creating a GUI program without a framwork

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Creating a GUI program without a framwork

I have been searching for articles/tutorials/anything on how to create a GUI program without using a framework. For example, I do Not want to use wxWidgits, or QT or anything like that. I have used all kind of frameworks like that before, mostly wxWidgits. Now, I would like to really program. Like talk to the kernel and send messages and events. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Note: I've been programming in C/C++ for a few years now.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Creating a GUI program without a framwork

If you want to code directly to X.org, check out Xlib.

http://tronche.com/gui/x/xlib/

Xlib is basically as low as you can go with X.org. Yes you will be directly drawing lines and shapes and even getting and setting individual pixels. There is no widgets to be found!

You want to speak directly with the Linux kernel? Then you should bypass X.org entirely. There is no windowing system if you go this route.

You should then access the Linux Framebuffer Device. I don't know of the direct API for this, but I know this very thin library accesses it: http://www.directfb.org/

And hey, it's FOSS, so you can see how it does what it does.

Good luck.
    Proud GNU/Linux zealot and lover of penguins
    "Value your freedom or you will lose it, teaches history." --Richard Stallman

Beans

Any reason for doing this? I mean, like phrostbyte said, unless you want to write an alternative to X (using the framebuffer or not), you'll always be writing something within a framework...