Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Why do people buy macs?

Beans

Why do people buy macs?

I've been using ubuntu for over 2 years now and windows 7 since pretty much it came out and i have come to the conclusion that both are both kick *** operating systems. so what compells people to spend so much on macs when they could get a pc to do all they need for cheaper?
    Whoever came up with the phrase "There is no such thing as a stupid question" obviously never had the internet.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Why do people buy macs?

It's shiny.
    It's silver
    The mac adverts
    .i coi rodo

Beans

i mean back in the day where win 98 through vista where pretty ugly and boring operating systems but now that windows 7 is out and does pretty much everything you need and has some very good features that help productivity, i don't understand the need for a mac. and if you don't need anything that windows provides, ubuntu with compiz is better than osx imo because it is so tweakable.
    Whoever came up with the phrase "There is no such thing as a stupid question" obviously never had the internet.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

In my opinion,
    1.) Advertising. They portray Mac as the "Cool" alternative to Windows.
    2.) Looks. People will spend hundreds of dollars for a nice theme and a shiny case.
    3.) Brand recognition. The same reason why the iPad is doing so well and why people have so much faith in Google for Chrome OS.
    4.) OSX is a good operating system.
    5.) People are fed up with Windows and think Apple is the only alternative.
    6.) They have extra money to burn.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Why did you spend so much on Windows?

Different people use their computers in different ways, and for different tasks, and therefore might like different operating systems.