Thread: LiveCD will not boot, alternate CD installs but new system won't boot.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

LiveCD will not boot, alternate CD installs but new system won't boot.

I have been using Ubuntu since 2005 and I use Ubuntu because it has always been rock-solid and trouble-free for me, I love this distro. I build my own machines because this allows me to pick and choose hardware that I already know works with Ubuntu. My current machine uses an AMD Sempron 2800 CPU, 1gb RAM, 2 x 60gb hard drives, 2 x DVD+/- R/RW drives, nVidia GeForce 6200+ video card. I built this machine and it has been serving me very well since Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake) and has been able to boot every Ubuntu LiveCD and alternate CD since Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake).

This is what I get when I boot the current Ubuntu 10.04 b2 LiveCD:
    I downloaded Ubuntu 10.04 beta 2, confirmed the downloaded .iso file against the md5sum, burned the image to cd with brasero and check the CD integrity from the LiveCDmenu

Boot from CD
    1.Screen with Ubuntu logo in the center and a keyboard looking thing at the bottom.
    2. I have to press the ESC key to get to the language screen (took me three reboots to figure this out)
    3. I get to the main menu that asks to boot to desktop, install Ubuntu, etc.
    4. I chose to "try Ubuntu" and then there is a screen with the Ubuntu logo in the center and five dots below it
    5. The dots serve as a type of progress bar but the dots end up all "filling up" and the screen sticks there until I restart the machine (i waited a half hour on two occasions), I can never get to the live desktop session

So, I tried downloading and installing from the alternate CD and the install completed successfully. I kinda like the UI of the alternate CD anyway. Upon reboot, to use the newly installed system, I was taken through the exact same thing that appears in step 5 above.