Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wireless Network card not appearing

Beans

Wireless Network card not appearing

I am new to linux/ubuntu know around zip at the moment. I have installed ubuntu 9.10, it has picked up the wired network card but not the wireless.

I have a dlink dwl 520+ card hardware version A2 Firmware 1.0 * If I go to system -> administration -> network tools I can see the loopback interface and the ethernet card eth0 but no wireless card.

Could anyone point me in the direction on how to install this card any help appreciated thank you

Beans

Re: Wireless Network card not appearing

I have just run the following command lspci -v
    Not sure if this helps

The results are:

01:00.0 Network controller: Texas Instruments ACX 100 22Mbps Wireless Interface
    Subsytem: D-Link System Inc Device 3b01
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 10
    I/O ports at df20 [size=32]
    Memory at feaee000 (32 bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4k]
    Memory at feaf0000 (32 bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64k]
    Capabilities: <access denied>

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

if you right click on network connections at the top of your screen does it give you the option to 'enable wireless' or just to 'enable networking'?

Beans

Hi it only gives me enable networking

Beans
    Distro

Okay sorry it took me a while been researching this,
    as far as I can tell this project covers the driver you need --> http://acx100.sourceforge.net/wiki/Firmware
    I'm pretty new to ubuntu so don't want to try and give you too much direction from there but this table (http://web.archive.org/web/200605101..._fw/acx1xx.htm ) certainly shows you network card as being supported and the first link should tell you how to go about setting it up.
    Hope this helps,
    Eric

Beans
    Distro