Thread: Physical to Virtual:Vbox

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Lightbulb Physical to Virtual:Vbox

Im using a 10.04 beta 2 install of ubuntu on a dual boot system with windows XP. what I'm wanting to do is be able to run Windows XP under virtualbox while in Ubuntu. the problem: I dont have an installation CD of Windows XP, and my Recovery disk will remove all partitions if i use it not just restore windows. I'm fairly new to virtualization so do try to be specific if possible.

right now i have a 200gig HD with 100gigs set to Ubuntu and 100gigs set to WinXP. I'm hoping to reduce the WinXP partition size, and convert it into a .vdi. I only have 1 copy of WinXP with 1 license. So I either have to figure out how to pull WinXP out of my restore CD so it doesnt erase everything or move my exhisting installation of XP to Vbox.

Beans

Re: Physical to Virtual:Vbox

Howdy,

Yes, it can be done, but after going to a whole lot of trouble to set it all up, you are still likely to find that it is unsatisfactory to do the switcheroo.

The problems with switching between dual booting and a virtual system mainly concern the switching over of the video driver between the real one and the virtual one and the MS registration nonsense.

So, to use a car analogy: Pick a gear and drive in it.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by Jazusa03 View Post
    Im using a 10.04 beta 2 install of ubuntu on a dual boot system with windows XP. what I'm wanting to do is be able to run Windows XP under virtualbox while in Ubuntu. the problem: I dont have an installation CD of Windows XP, and my Recovery disk will remove all partitions if i use it not just restore windows. I'm fairly new to virtualization so do try to be specific if possible.