Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Setting Asus USB N13 in ubuntu 9.10

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Setting Asus USB N13 in ubuntu 9.10

Hi everyone,
    I am not only VERY new to Ubuntu, but i am new to linux as well, so any answers to my question need to be as simple as possible, so i can understand it. Anyways, i need help setting up an Asus USB N-13 wireless adapter (when i plug it NOTHING happens (the light on the device doesn't even blink)). I was trying to use this (click me), but i got confused mid way through. Any help would be great.
    P.S. I have Ubuntu 10.04 LTS

Thanks in advanced,
    Ben
    Last edited by 828688 Ben; April 2nd, 2010 at 12:17 AM.

Beans
    Distro

Re: Setting Asus USB N13 in ubuntu 9.10

Please open Applications > Accessories > Terminal and post:
    Code:
    lsusb
    Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

benjamin@Ben-laptop:~$ lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 012: ID 0b05:1784 ASUSTek Computer, Inc.
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    benjamin@Ben-laptop:~$

Beans
    Distro

I am not only VERY new to Ubuntu, but i am new to linux as well, so any answers to my question need to be as simple as possible, so i can understand it.
    Here we go! Remove the device from the USB slot. Open a terminal and do these commands; it is perfectly alright to copy and paste and proofread carefully. Spacing, case and spelling must be exact!
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/network_drivers.rules
    The text editor gedit will pop open as a new file. Type in one long line:
    Code:
    ACTION=="add", SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTR{idVendor}=="0b05", ATTR{idProduct}=="1784", RUN+="/sbin/modprobe -qba rt3070sta"
    Proofread carefully, save and close gedit.
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/network_drivers.conf
    Type in one long line:
    Code: