Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: totem-mozilla plugin volume

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Beans
    263
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    totem-mozilla plugin volume

    I'm using the totem-mozilla plugin for Firefox and whenever the plugin loads the volume is always muted by default. I guess I can see the wisdom of this but I'd really like to have the volume on by default. Does anyone know how to do this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Modena, Italy
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    Same here. It is a actually a problem here: http://www.apple.com/it/findouthow/mac/#anatomy
    Totem controls are disabled and I can't raise the volume at all. Btw, I'm not going to buy a mac

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Paris France
    Beans
    213
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    Everything sound fine with gnome-mediaplayer and gecko-mediaplayer plugins

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    Quote Originally Posted by grandtoubab View Post
    Everything sound fine with gnome-mediaplayer and gecko-mediaplayer plugins
    I second that. I think there is probably something goofy going on with the plugin that hasn't been addressed yet. gecko-mediaplayer works as expected.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    6

    Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    if the audio is set to mute and the totem plugin won't let you change it, that usually means there's something wrong and that it's unable to play the audio track for whatever reason.

    on the other hand, i have a problem where the plugin's default volume is very low, and I have to adjust it every time a movie is loaded; sounds like the first poster on this thread has a similar problem where the default is to be muted. anyone have a fix for that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NY United States
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Question Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    @bgruber: Hey I have exactly the same problem but unfortunately no solution.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Smederevo/Serbia
    Beans
    175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    I can't even play anything with Totem, and can't use gstreamer aplications for video. It try to find plugins (codecs), but it fails thare too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    I have the same issue, video plays fine but no sound, although I can change it when I put it in fullscreen with the volume control. Sound works fine then but it doesn't stick when I load the next video. Sound is back to muted.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    8,874
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    Quote Originally Posted by Milos_SD View Post
    I can't even play anything with Totem, and can't use gstreamer aplications for video. It try to find plugins (codecs), but it fails thare too.
    Make sure the repositories in apt-get are on, then reload and look for ubuntu restricted extras in synaptic.

    For those of you having problems with totem in genaral load the correct codecs as suggested above and install VLC or smpolayer or any of the others mentioned in the thread, Totem has some limitations that can't be gotten past, at least by me.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Smederevo/Serbia
    Beans
    175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: totem-mozilla plugin volume

    Quote Originally Posted by wilee-nilee View Post
    Make sure the repositories in apt-get are on, then reload and look for ubuntu restricted extras in synaptic.

    For those of you having problems with totem in genaral load the correct codecs as suggested above and install VLC or smpolayer or any of the others mentioned in the thread, Totem has some limitations that can't be gotten past, at least by me.
    I have all gstreamer packages installed, and ubuntu restricted extras. Problem started when I updated(recompiled) ffmpeg from svn. It was manualy compiled before too, and totem and other gstremer apps worked, now it doesn't. Maybe that is not the problem, maybe it's something else, I don't know.
    Is there a way to use mplayer to play apple trailers?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •