Thread: DW700 GPS min card on Dell Mini 1010

Beans

DW700 GPS min card on Dell Mini 1010

I've been looking into how to get this up and running on 9.10. lsusb shows the device is being detected (Bus 004 Device 002: ID 413c:9500 Dell Computer Corp.) but I don't think a driver is installed... I'm relatively new to linux troubleshooting so i'm learning as i go. would like some direction from anyone willing to help. let me know if you need more information.

Beans

Re: DW700 GPS min card on Dell Mini 1010

So, i have a general hardware driver question to throw out there... How do I know if a device has a driver installed?

I looked at my devices via the gnome device manager and it shows the DW700 GPS Card mounted on /dev/ttyUSB0. tried to use gpsbabel to get some info off of it but it seems like it's just not doing anything so no output. not getting anything off of gpsd/xgps. Any suggestions as to what to try next would be appreciated, thanks.

Beans

I just got mine in the mail today. After I image the harddrive I'll be blasting it and loading ubuntu. GPS is one of my first projects on this so I'll let you know what I find on mine.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by montgoj View Post
    I just got mine in the mail today. After I image the harddrive I'll be blasting it and loading ubuntu. GPS is one of my first projects on this so I'll let you know what I find on mine.
    Awesome, let me know what you come up with or if there's anything I can do to help.

Beans

Hi, I also got mine saturday and I would like to have the GPS/WPS working. It came with XP pre-installed so I kept it and put UNR 9.10 beside it. I had to use the poulsbo video driver instruction to get decent video and now everything seems to work except the GPS.

In windows I've openned it with hyperterminal and was able to get the NMEA string. I'm wondering if the cp210x chip is sending it directly through the serial port or if a driver is really needed.