Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Atheros 9k wifi card problem, please help!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Unhappy Atheros 9k wifi card problem, please help!

Hi all, I'm new to ubuntu and to this forum, I've solved most of the problems I faced except this one. I have been using ubuntu 9.10 for the past 5 days and everything works fine except my wifi card. I forgot the exact model of my wifi card but its a member of the Atheros9k family and ubuntu seems to detect it. I can connect to wireless connections for about 5 minutes or so till my computer freezes leaving me with no choice but to reboot it the hard way! I have tried connecting on two different wireless connections but the same problem keeps on happening. And I know there is no problem with my card since I have been using it without problems when my OS was windows 7.
    Last edited by shebaw; March 25th, 2010 at 06:06 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: Atheros 9k wifi card problem, please help!

Some people who have been experiencing poor connections with ath9k wireless devices have seen improvement by installing the following two packages:

linux-backports-modules-karmic
    linux-backports-modules-wireless-karmic-generic

This may or may not help your somewhat different desktop freezing problem, but it's certainly worth trying, and it certainly won't do any harm.

Make sure your machine is connected via an ehernet cable to give you a stable connection and stable desktop for the duration of the install. Open Synaptic, click on 'reload' to get the latest metadata and mark those two packages for installation. They will bring in one other package which contains the actual updated drivers.