Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    6

    Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

    Sorry Newbie here im trying to get my ubuntu on my laptop its a hp compaw nc6400 with a intel 945 card and im looking to get 1280*1020 when im stuck at the default 1280*800.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Beans
    3,421

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

    If the technical specs are anything to go by, your hardware won't do any better than 1280x800, or maybe 1440x900 if you have the WXGA+ monitor.

    http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/q.../12446_ca.HTML

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

    with windows 7 it supports it

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Beans
    3,421

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

    Quote Originally Posted by McCorkis View Post
    with windows 7 it supports it
    I'm just going by the specs on the website.

    Can you open a terminal, type "xrandr" and paste the output here?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 800, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    LVDS1 connected 1280x800+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 304mm x 190mm
    1280x800 59.9*+
    1024x768 60.0
    800x600 60.3
    640x480 59.9
    DVI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    TV1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Burlington, NJ
    Beans
    16
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

    1280 x 1020 sounds bizarre. I've used CRTs at 1280 x 1024, but I've never seen a laptop with a native 5:4. 5:4 is closer to square than the old standard of 4:3. If your laptop is a widescreen, then the only support for 1280 x 1024 would be with the screen scrolling as you move the mouse left to right, thus showing you a 1280 x 1024 desktop through a 1280 x 800 window. Double check your windows 7 video resolution. It may not be set at 1280 x 1020.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1024

    sry yes im looking for 1280x1024 sry

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    11,525

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1024

    Your screen is only 1280x800. http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=3110
    How do you get a larger resolution under Windows?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

    at work i have a spare nc6400 with an ati video card in it and it can only do 1280x800

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Beans
    3,421

    Re: Trying to get to resolution 1280x1020

    Quote Originally Posted by McCorkis View Post
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 800, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    LVDS1 connected 1280x800+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 304mm x 190mm
    1280x800 59.9*+
    1024x768 60.0
    800x600 60.3
    640x480 59.9
    DVI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    TV1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    I would say based on this output you aren't going to get better than 1280x800.

    Since it's an Intel card, the best available driver is already built into the kernel, there is not a proprietary driver you can download to enhance functionality as with Nvidia or Ati cards.

    Your screen is a widescreen (8:5 aspect) according to that output and the published specs, so it would be odd for it to support a standard 5:4 or 4:3 resolution, and it'd look pretty squashed if you managed to get it to.

    If you really must absolutely just have this resolution, about the only thing I can suggest is that you could manually create an xorg.conf file and put in your own list of available modes. It probably won't work, though, and involves a certain amount of command line/config-file work which you may not want to bother with.

    Still, if you want to go that route, here's a good place to start reading:

    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Resolution

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •