Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Ping gets wrong IP address

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Unhappy Ping gets wrong IP address

    Hello, my network expertise is tenuous at best. This started because one computer on my network is having trouble updating Google Toolbar information. This is a laptop which joins other wifi networks outside of the house.
    Code:
    BROKEN:~$ ping toolbar.google.com
    PING toolbar.google.com (208.68.139.89) 56(84) bytes of data.
    ^C
    --- toolbar.google.com ping statistics ---
    8 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 7054ms
    Code:
    BROKEN:~$ dig toolbar.google.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> toolbar.google.com
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 4752
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 6, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;toolbar.google.com.		IN	A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    toolbar.google.com.	193	IN	CNAME	tools.l.google.com.
    tools.l.google.com.	292	IN	A	74.125.45.113
    tools.l.google.com.	292	IN	A	74.125.45.138
    tools.l.google.com.	292	IN	A	74.125.45.139
    tools.l.google.com.	292	IN	A	74.125.45.101
    tools.l.google.com.	292	IN	A	74.125.45.102
    
    ;; Query time: 16 msec
    ;; SERVER: 192.168.1.1#53(192.168.1.1)
    ;; WHEN: Sun Mar 14 14:52:10 2010
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 138
    Code:
    BROKEN:~$ nslookup toolbar.google.com
    Server:		192.168.1.1
    Address:	192.168.1.1#53
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    toolbar.google.com	canonical name = tools.l.google.com.
    Name:	tools.l.google.com
    Address: 74.125.45.102
    Name:	tools.l.google.com
    Address: 74.125.45.101
    Name:	tools.l.google.com
    Address: 74.125.45.139
    Name:	tools.l.google.com
    Address: 74.125.45.138
    Name:	tools.l.google.com
    Address: 74.125.45.113
    Code:
    BROKEN:~$ ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:22:8d:d4:df  
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:18 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:31885 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:31885 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:3523624 (3.5 MB)  TX bytes:3523624 (3.5 MB)
    
    virbr0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 62:06:d9:f3:b3:33  
              inet addr:192.168.122.1  Bcast:192.168.122.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1116 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:104440 (104.4 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:90:4b:e7:c2:74  
              inet addr:192.168.1.41  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::290:4bff:fee7:c274/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:1942701 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1059693 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:2757203086 (2.7 GB)  TX bytes:94433373 (94.4 MB)
    
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-90-4B-E7-C2-74-65-37-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
              UP RUNNING  MTU:0  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    So, why would ping get 208.68.139.89 on this laptop, but not the other computers behind the same gateway-firewall-router server?

    /etc/resolv.conf, /etc/networks/interfaces, /etc/host.conf, /etc/hosts, /etc/hosts.allow, /etc/hosts.deny seem to be correct according to other Ubuntu computers which are working correctly.

    I am at such a loss on this one, I am not even certain how to Google for solutions. I have tried "ping wrong ip" and several others, but no real answer I can find. Please, add some light as to why this might be happening and/or solutions. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,464

    Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    You said the BROKEN laptop is on a different network, didn't you?

    I would say one DNS along the way (in the router, or at the ISP) is replacing the DNS request for toolbar.google.com with it's own search site http://twcsearch.fastsearch.net/ . I would expect this would then also happen for other *.google.com request, so check "ping google.com".

    This can also be done by infected PCs on which some "helpful" program reroutes to other sites.

    One way to check my hypothesis, is to put 8.8.8.8 as the *only* nameserver in /etc/resolv.conf, and then try the ping again.

    HTH


    de Kameel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Post Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    Quote Originally Posted by sanderj View Post
    You said the BROKEN laptop is on a different network, didn't you?
    BROKEN computer is currently on the same network, however, occasionally it connects to unsecured networks (coffee shops, friends' houses, etc.).
    Quote Originally Posted by sanderj View Post
    I would say one DNS along the way (in the router, or at the ISP) is replacing the DNS request for toolbar.google.com with it's own search site http://twcsearch.fastsearch.net/ . I would expect this would then also happen for other *.google.com request, so check "ping google.com".
    Pinging google.com and tools.l.google.com from BROKEN gets the right responses.
    Quote Originally Posted by sanderj View Post
    This can also be done by infected PCs on which some "helpful" program reroutes to other sites.
    One way to check my hypothesis, is to put 8.8.8.8 as the *only* nameserver in /etc/resolv.conf, and then try the ping again.
    Because BROKEN visits unsecured networks, it maybe "infected" somehow. Is there a way to remove networking and reinstall it? Or is there a means to trace down what "helpful" program is rerouting to other sites?
    /etc/resolv.conf is generated by NetworkManager and updated each time connections are established. Did this:
    1. Connected to the network
    2. Changed nameserver to 8.8.8.8 in /etc/resolv.conf
    3. Pinged toolbar.google.com and tools.l.google.com
    4. Double checked /etc/resolv.conf to ensure nameserver was not changed
    The results are the same unfortunately. It seems like the issue is with BROKEN and not the DNS or local router/nameserver.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    Does the same thing happen when you have booted to a livecd?
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Arrow Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    Also tried this on both wireless and ethernet connections to the network.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    Does the same thing happen when you have booted to a livecd?
    No, this does not happen when booted from LiveCD.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Beans
    528
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    Sounds like your DNS is screwed. Did you try putting 8.8.8.8 in as the only IP address in that file that someone above said to do?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,464

    Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    Quote Originally Posted by TrekCaptainUSA View Post
    Sounds like your DNS is screwed. Did you try putting 8.8.8.8 in as the only IP address in that file that someone above said to do?
    ... and post the full output of "dig toolbar.google.com" to make sure 8.8.8.8 is queried.


    Code:
    sander@quirinius:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf 
    # Generated by NetworkManager
    domain lan
    search lan
    # nameserver 192.168.2.254
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    
    sander@quirinius:~$ dig toolbar.google.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> toolbar.google.com
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27633
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 4, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;toolbar.google.com.		IN	A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    toolbar.google.com.	187	IN	CNAME	tools.l.google.com.
    tools.l.google.com.	187	IN	A	74.125.79.102
    tools.l.google.com.	187	IN	A	74.125.79.101
    tools.l.google.com.	187	IN	A	74.125.79.100
    
    ;; Query time: 53 msec
    ;; SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8)
    ;; WHEN: Tue Mar 16 18:47:09 2010
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 106
    
    sander@quirinius:~$

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Post Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    Code:
    BROKEN:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf 
    # Generated by NetworkManager
    domain lan
    search lan
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    BROKEN:~$ ping toolbar.google.com
    PING toolbar.google.com (208.68.139.89) 56(84) bytes of data.
    ^C
    --- toolbar.google.com ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 1999ms
    
    BROKEN:~$ dig toolbar.google.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> toolbar.google.com
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27722
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 7, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;toolbar.google.com.		IN	A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    toolbar.google.com.	18	IN	CNAME	tools.l.google.com.
    tools.l.google.com.	260	IN	A	74.125.93.138
    tools.l.google.com.	260	IN	A	74.125.93.101
    tools.l.google.com.	260	IN	A	74.125.93.100
    tools.l.google.com.	260	IN	A	74.125.93.139
    tools.l.google.com.	260	IN	A	74.125.93.113
    tools.l.google.com.	260	IN	A	74.125.93.102
    
    ;; Query time: 176 msec
    ;; SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8)
    ;; WHEN: Tue Mar 16 14:33:22 2010
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 154
    
    BROKEN:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf 
    # Generated by NetworkManager
    domain lan
    search lan
    nameserver 8.8.8.8

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,464

    Re: Ping gets wrong IP address

    Post the output of "cat /etc/hosts"

    sander@quirinius:~$ cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.1.1 quirinius

    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1 localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
    sander@quirinius:~$

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •