Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 51 to 56 of 56

Thread: DO NOT upgrade plymouth yet..

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    549

    Re: DO NOT upgrade plymouth yet..

    Quote Originally Posted by ranch hand View Post
    I love these "don't eat the yellow snow" threads. They sure do keep you from making big mistakes.

    There must be something wrong with 10.04. We had a lot more of this kind of FUN in 9.10-testing.
    LOL! I remember that nightmare. I think it's funny that testers are getting upset & usability issues (which lets face it has run it's course of discussion) & Karmic testers were dealing with bootability issues! ;P

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: DO NOT upgrade plymouth yet..

    Quote Originally Posted by rooijan View Post
    As previous posts show chroot and update will work. There is a link to fixing a 32bit system. Here is what I did for 64bit 10.04 if you are unfamiliar with chroot:

    Boot livecd with correct architecture. I booted 9.10 amd64.
    Use fdisk -l to see what your linux main partition is.

    root@ubuntu:~# mkdir /media/l
    root@ubuntu:~# mount /dev/sda1 /media/l
    root@ubuntu:~# mount -o bind /proc /media/l/proc
    root@ubuntu:~# mount -o bind /dev /media/l/dev
    root@ubuntu:~# mount -o bind /dev/pts /media/l/dev/pts
    root@ubuntu:~# mount -o bind /sys /media/l/sys
    root@ubuntu:~# chroot /media/l /bin/bash
    root@ubuntu:/# sudo dhclient eth0
    (could also be wireless wlan0)

    I did install the package manually but an apt-get update ; apt-get upgrade would have caught it anyhow.

    root@ubuntu:/# wget http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/..._2.8_amd64.deb
    root@ubuntu:/# dpkg -i mountall_2.8_amd64.deb

    root@ubuntu:/# apt-get update ; apt-get upgrade
    too late for me, i ended up reinstalling. but it should help others having the same issue...

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Beans
    403

    Re: DO NOT upgrade plymouth yet..

    Any help as how to fix this with Lucid running in VBox?

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Coastal Texas
    Beans
    510
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: DO NOT upgrade plymouth yet..

    For those of us not subscribed to https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...th/+bug/538214 , the dev working on it has asked people to submit syslogs. Instructions can be found within the bug comments.
    Custom PC- Athlon II, GeForce 210, Kubuntu Ocelot
    Dell Inspiron 1564, i3 Arrandale, Lubuntu Lucid
    Winbook M Series, Kubuntu Ocelot

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Allentown, PA; USA
    Beans
    484
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: DO NOT upgrade plymouth yet..

    Quote Originally Posted by ubuntubrian View Post
    Any help as how to fix this with Lucid running in VBox?
    Um, can't you boot from the iso image and then chroot into your "system" as advised by brucemartin?

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    13

    Re: DO NOT upgrade plymouth yet..

    I did an update and my system still started up afterwards, but my keyboard won't work because it's bluetooth. It worked perfectly beforehand though. When I restart/shutdown, I see something about Plymouth. Is Plymouth my problem or is it something else?

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •