Thread: Realtek RTL8192SU driver compiling issues

Hybrid View

Beans

Realtek RTL8192SU driver compiling issues

My wifi issue has been driving me crazy for days and am hoping the good people here might be able to help me out. I'm a Linux newbie, so please be gentle.

My card has the Realtek rtl8192su usb chipset. First I tried using ndiswrapper which worked except I had to do it every time I restarted the computer. I figured if I had to spend a lot of time getting it to work correctly I might as well do it natively in Linux. I emailed Realtek and got the newest driver (rtl8712_8188_8191_8192SU_usb_linux_v2.6.0006.2010 0202.tar.gz). After much trial and error and reading many forums I got it to work using chili555's directions on the first page of this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1329254. The problem is it didn't keep after the reboot. I'm assuming this has something to do with the module. I don't see it in /etc/modules folder but honestly I'm not sure if I'm supposed to. I'd like to add it into /etc/modules through gedit like topsykretts from the same thread, but of course I wouldn't be able to add the line r8192se_pci since I'm using a different chipset. I don't know where to find the information on what to use, though.

Another issue from the directions given on that same thread:

from terminal cd back to the installed directory

then

sudo ./wlan0up

When I do this ./wlan0up just says "No such file or directory".

If I didn't provide enough info, I'm sorry. Please let me know what other information you need. I'd like to add that on the computer I'm having these issues with I'm not technically running Ubuntu... It's Linux Mint. To my understanding there should be no difference when it comes to these drivers though.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Realtek RTL8192SU driver compiling issues

Does this kick your wireless device to life?
    Code:
    sudo modprobe r8192se_pci