Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Base 211
    Beans
    319
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    Ok, no idea wtf is going on but getting entirely p'd at these things happening, if its not USB issues its compiz issues...

    Have been using

    compiz --replace --only-current-screen

    for god knows how long, worked find no issues, now it doesnt do jack, and bitches about

    Code:
    Checking for Xgl: not present. 
    xset q doesn't reveal the location of the log file. Using fallback /var/log/Xorg.0.log 
    Detected PCI ID for VGA: 
    Checking for texture_from_pixmap: not present. 
    Trying again with indirect rendering:
    Checking for texture_from_pixmap: not present. 
    aborting and using fallback: /usr/bin/metacity 
    metacity: Unknown option --only-current-screen
    launching now with just compiz or compiz --replace - turns on compiz yet despite settings in compiz being set, they dont flaming work...

    i've had about enough of these errors when nothings changed, i refuse to update to avoid these issues so - any ideas..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Monterrey, Nuevo Leon Mx
    Beans
    25
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    Try to reinstall it by going to synaptic
    It is ironic how people say they don't need Windows when they are probably using Wine xD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Base 211
    Beans
    319
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    Your logic is flawed.. nothings changed - so why would a reinstall make a difference..??

    I mean i tried and as i figured nothing changes... still the same problem..

    The problem is obviousyl with metacity - guessing they've removed a important function without relising others DO use it...

    It's a basic fix for compiz users who use dual-screen but only want compiz running on 1 of the screens...


    like for myself for years, i've been running 2 monitors with 2 xsessions and only having compiz enabled on one....
    Last edited by Plasma_NZ; March 19th, 2010 at 02:56 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Base 211
    Beans
    319
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    for now i'm reverting back to a previous kernel - works fine in that...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Monterrey, Nuevo Leon Mx
    Beans
    25
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    Sorry, Im used to Windows, and that is usually the solution to everything xD
    It is ironic how people say they don't need Windows when they are probably using Wine xD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    26
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    Hi, I'm new here and I hope I posting in the right place, but I'm having issues getting compiz to work. I tried running compiz check and I got this:

    Code:
    Distribution:          Ubuntu 9.04
     Desktop environment:   GNOME
     Graphics chip:         ATI Technologies Inc Mobility Radeon HD 3650
     Driver in use:         fglrx
     Rendering method:      None
    
    Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...  [SKIP]
    
     Checking for hardware/setup problems...           [SKIP]
    
    At least one check had to be skipped:
     Error: No rendering method in use (AIGLX, Xgl or Nvidia)
    can anyone help me?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Tennessee, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    @becatron It's better if you make your own post. You're more likely to recieve help that way. According to the error message it looks like you need to install drivers for your graphics card. Try going to System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers. If your gfx card is there, select it, and enable the driver.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Base 211
    Beans
    319
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    Quote Originally Posted by ManyuX95 View Post
    Sorry, Im used to Windows, and that is usually the solution to everything xD
    well - time to forget all u know about windows cause it doesnt apply to linux !

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Base 211
    Beans
    319
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    Quote Originally Posted by becatron View Post
    Hi, I'm new here and I hope I posting in the right place, but I'm having issues getting compiz to work. I tried running compiz check and I got this:

    Code:
    Distribution:          Ubuntu 9.04
     Desktop environment:   GNOME
     Graphics chip:         ATI Technologies Inc Mobility Radeon HD 3650
     Driver in use:         fglrx
     Rendering method:      None
    
    Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...  [SKIP]
    
     Checking for hardware/setup problems...           [SKIP]
    
    At least one check had to be skipped:
     Error: No rendering method in use (AIGLX, Xgl or Nvidia)
    can anyone help me?
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozymandias_117 View Post
    @becatron It's better if you make your own post. You're more likely to recieve help that way. According to the error message it looks like you need to install drivers for your graphics card. Try going to System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers. If your gfx card is there, select it, and enable the driver.
    I'd follow his advice on both parts... dont be scared to make your own threads... but as a guide for future reference - NVIDIA gfx cards are much simpler in linux than ati is..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    70
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Compiz Broken AGIAN!

    Ubuntu purge compiz-fusion
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=546429

    Enabling Compiz Fusion On An Ubuntu 9.10 Desktop (NVIDIA Cards)
    http://www.howtoforge.com/enabling-c...eforce-fx-5200

    ATI Cards

    RadeonDriver
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonDriver

    RadeonXpress
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonXpress

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •