Thread: 9.10 No gui after installing 2nd display pkg and relog in

Beans

9.10 No gui after installing 2nd display pkg and relog in

I'm a comp systems engineering student who's been running ubuntu on one of my machines for about a year and can do basic command line stuff but I'm stumped.

I tried to hook a 2nd monitor up and ubuntu said it needed to install a pkg so I let it and then it said to re log in, I did. It now comes up acting like a terminal instead of a gui. I rebooted a bunch of times loading the old system snapshots (pressing esc during boot) and got kernel 2.6.28-15-generic to boot with normally which was great.

But the only mouse that worked was the little button one in the middle of the keyboard and there was no sound and a couple of other funny things. Being more used to windows still I figured I'd reboot it from the same kernel and see if that fixed it. Now all of my kernel images act like the 2.6.31-19-generic one and only boot command line.

I spent about 6 hours trying every command I could find in the man and help pages and consistently got three errors:
    1: failed to load apparmor
    2: Failed to fetch http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/karmic- ... with about 30 different endings followed by
    Temporary failure resolving ' *.ubuntu.com'
    3: RuntimeError: could not open display
    I do not have a cd drive on that machine so it's rather difficult to just reinstall off a live cd
    Thanks

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: 9.10 No gui after installing 2nd display pkg and relog in

1) Make sure system has internet connectivity
    2) At grub boot into recovery mode
    a. Attempt to repair startup issues from recovery menu
    3) What type of video driver do you have?

You may need to just reinstall ubuntu-desktop.
    Also this may help: Dual Monitor
    Ubuntu Christian Edition chat on irc at server: OFTC/channel: #ubuntuCE
    BootInfoScript DualBooting
    Grub Grub2 MBR/GRUB