Thread: Completely uninstall and reinstall Eclipse IDE

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Completely uninstall and reinstall Eclipse IDE

I am VERY NEW to Ubuntu and have only limited experience with Linux in general. (mostly command line for web dev)

I started using Eclipse a few days ago and today something went wrong. I can no longer create a project for Java. I have tried several times to uninstall and reinstall but nothing seems to fix the problem.

The question is, how do I completely uinstall Eclipse so there are no bones left around and then do a full reinstall so I can start creating Java packages again? I am just learning Eclipse so keep your instructions simple please. Thanks so much!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: Completely uninstall and reinstall Eclipse IDE

to completely remove it, go to system-admin-synaptic package manager.
    then search for the eclipse package and right click it and select "mark for complete removal"
    then press apply to let the uninstall process start.
    after it has finished, right click the package and press mark for installation and press apply to reinstall
    Keep your important files in HOSTS when ubuntu is installed with WUBI
    How to install ANYTHING in Ubuntu!
    'No PUB KEY' error? Try this!

Beans

Hey,
    I had huge problems trying to reinstall eclipse because when I updated from last ubuntu version to the new one all the privileges changed and I had to do every thing as a root. Also I had big troubles with the plug-ins because they were there but eclipse didn't showed them. so here is what I did to start a clean reinstall.
    1. First log in as a root $su - root
    2. $apt-get autoremove eclipse
    3. $rm -r /usr/lib/eclipse (will remove all the plugins that were lost or were giving you problems and also configuration files which if you are new with eclipse for sure there is nothing to keep)
    4. $apt-get install eclipse
    5. $eclipse (launch eclipse)